glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Christ is a sweet smell

It is 2:13 PM Friday afternoon here in Western Michigan of the United States of America. Sad to write America is not a country that is united. America is a nation divided at every level. There is no unity in America. We are a nation of cold blooded killers.

I got up this morning around 7:30 AM. I am still recovering from a dream I had where in I was wandering around lost with only a pair of sleeping shorts on. I had no cell phone on me so as to call Carol and ask her to come and find me. So I got up and when I got up I found Carol cooking a meal to take to a family in her church this evening.

I had oatmeal for my morning meal. I wonder what kind of meals Ukrainian people eat in the mornings in their bombed out homes?

Carol and I read Calvin's 'Institutes' and 'The Valley of Vision' for morning devotions. After devotions we prayed and then I got ready to go leave to volunteer at the Book Nook from 10 AM till 1 PM. The Book Nook today was not real busy so I read from these two books-

'Platonism & Mystical Theology: The Spiritual Doctrine of St Gregory of Nyssa' by Jean Danielou

'Pierced By Love: Divine Reading With The Christian Tradition' by Hans Boersma

Carol showed up at 1 o'clock PM to do her volunteer shift and I left to go home. When I got home I found in one of my sweat shirt pockets the keys to the Book Nook so I drove back to the library and handed over the keys to Carol and then drove home for a second time. We only live a few minutes from our local public library so it was zip and zap! When I got home I ate lunch and wrote in my paper diary.

Last night I mainly read till late into the night, 'Divine Days' A Novel by Leon Forrest. Well I am tired so I will close for the day.

"[14] Now thanks be unto God, which always causeth us to triumph in Christ, and maketh manifest the savour of his knowledge by us in every place.
[15] For we are unto God a sweet savour of Christ, in them that are saved, and in them that perish:
[16] To the one we are the savour of death unto death; and to the other the savour of life unto life. And who is sufficient for these things?
[17] For we are not as many, which corrupt the word of God: but as of sincerity, but as of God, in the sight of God speak we in Christ" 2 Corinth. 2:14-17

To Jesus every day I find
My heart is closer drawn,
He’s fairer than the glory
Of the gold and purple dawn;
He’s all my fancy pictures
In their fairest dreams, and more,
Each day He grows still sweeter
Than He was the day before.

Refrain

The half cannot be fancied
This side the golden shore;
O there He’ll be still sweeter
Than He ever was before.

His glory broke upon me
When I saw Him from afar,
He’s fairer than the lily,
Brighter than the morning star;
He fills and satisfies
My longing spirit o’er and o’er,
Each day He grows still sweeter
Than He was the day before.

Refrain

My heart is sometimes heavy,
But He comes with sweet relief,
He folds me to His bosom
When I droop with blighting grief;
I love the Christ who all
My burdens in His body bore,
Each day He grows still sweeter
Than He was the day before.

Refrain

2:30 p.m. - 2023-04-21

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Noworry4tzl
patheticness
nikkifoofoo
catsoul
whystinger
mal-adjusted
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
lobo21
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
realthoughts
journey2one
freakyouout
fragilegirl8
msjessica
fan4
trapeze-act