glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

a world of strangers

It is 2:33 PM Tuesday afternoon here in Western Michigan. It is 66 degrees and partly sunny this afternoon.

I got up this morning around 7:45 AM. When I came upstairs Carol had a quiche in the oven for breakfast. She was reading her Bible and I wrote in my paper diary after taking my morning pills. We had breakfast and then we had devotions.

This morning we left around 10 o'clock AM to drive to Grand Haven to visit Loutit District Library used bookstore Cheap Stacks and then visit thrift stores in search of more used books. Also Carol wanted to stop a visit a friend from church was now living in a Assistant Living Place while in Grand Haven (this fellow will be 96 years old next week).

At Cheap Stacks library used books store I found these used books-

'The Development' Nine Stories by John Barth

'The Lemur' Crime Fiction by Benjamin Black

'The Rest of Life' Three Novellas by Mary Gordon

'Ultimate Prizes' A Novel by Susan Howatch

'Imaginings of Sand' A Novel by Andre Brink

'When Things Of The Spirit Come First' Five Early Tales by Simone De Beauvoir

'Amateurs' short stories by Donald Barthelme

'The Indian Clerk' A Novel by David Leavitt

'All Is Change: The Two-Thousand-Year Journey of Buddhism to the West' by Lawrence Sutin

'A World Of Strangers' A Novel by Nadine Gordimer

After Cheap Stack we visit two thrift stores before going to visit Carol friend from church-I found these used books at these places-

'No Other Life' A Novel by Brian Moore

'Water And What We Known: Following the Roots of a Northern Life' essays by Karne Babine

While Carol visited her friend I waited in our car and read, 'The Hooligan's Return' A Memoir by Norman Manea.

Before coming home we stopped at Salvation Army to look at their used books-I found an extra paperback edition of 'V.' A Novel by Thomas Pynchon (I collect different editions/cover of 'V.' by Pynchon.

When we got home from our travels I catalogued the used books I bought today in my LibraryThing site Bookmountain and then ate lunch. This afternoon nothing came in the mail worth mentioning.

I will close to recover from the day. Tomorrow will be a Wednesday.

2:57 p.m. - 2023-04-11

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Noworry4tzl
patheticness
nikkifoofoo
catsoul
whystinger
mal-adjusted
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
lobo21
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
realthoughts
journey2one
freakyouout
fragilegirl8
msjessica
fan4
trapeze-act