glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

human beings are by nature are children of wrath

It is 3:09 PM Thursday afternoon here. It was sunny up till 1 o'clock PM, now it is cloudy and 31 degrees. It was nice though to see some sunshine today even it has now disappeared.

I got up this morning around 7 o'clock AM. When I came upstairs I found my wife reading her Bible. My wife and I had a normal morning. I do not recall my wife leaving this morning to go anywhere. Wait, I now remember my wife did leave this morning to visit a local thrift store to look for binders and to look at their used books. She got home around 11:13 AM from running around. I personally spent the morning writing in my paper diary and reading from a book titled, 'The Gloss & The Text: William Perkins On Interpreting Scripture with Scripture' by Andrew S. Ballitch. I also read from Volume 5 of 'The Works of William Perkins' on his, 'An Exposition of the Creed'- "I believe in God".

I have spent the afternoon mainly writing in my paper diary, ordering some books from Princeton University Press (it is Princeton University's Press Winter Sale 70% off selected books), and reading from a book titled, 'Why Read: Selected Writings 2001-2021' Essays by Will Self. Not much else to report today. Last night I mainly read William Perkins late into the night, his 'An Exposition of the Creed' Vol. 5 'The Works of William Perkins'.

I suppose I will close. Carol and I baby-sit Josie this afternoon. Carol left to go pick her up after she gets out of school.

402 C.M. Isaac Watts
Praying for Quickening Grace. Ps. 119. 20, 25, 37, 40
1 My soul lies cleaving to the dust;
Lord, give me life divine;
From vain desires and every lust,
Turn off these eyes of mine.

2 I need the influence of thy grace
To speed me in my way,
Lest I should loiter in my race,
Or turn my feet astray.

3 When sore afflictions press me down,
I need thy quickening powers;
Thy word that I have rested on,
Shall help my heaviest hours.

4 Are not thy mercies sovereign still,
And thou a faithful God?
Wilt thou not grant me warmer zeal
To run the heavenly road?

5 Does not my heart thy precepts love,
And long to see thy face?
And yet how slow my spirits move
Without enlivening grace!

6 Then shall I love thy gospel more,
And ne’er forget thy word,
When I have felt its quickening power,
To draw me near the Lord.

3:30 p.m. - 2023-02-02

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Noworry4tzl
patheticness
nikkifoofoo
catsoul
whystinger
mal-adjusted
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
lobo21
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
realthoughts
journey2one
freakyouout
fragilegirl8
msjessica
fan4
trapeze-act