glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

divine mercy

It is 4:30 PM Tuesday late afternoon here in West Michigan. Outside right now it is 23 degrees and cloudy with some sunlight. It is a blessing to see some cold sunlight this afternoon. Maybe tomorrow we will have a day of full sunshine.

I got up this morning around 7:35 AM. When I came upstairs I found Carol reading her devotional books and Bible in our living room. I won't go into detail about my morning. I did have an appointment with my Psychologist at 10 o'clock AM (I thought my appointment was at 1 o'clock PM but when I checked my calendar I noticed it was at 10 o'clock AM). After my session with my therapist I headed home, but stopped at a thrift store to look at their used books. I stopped at another thrift store before coming home. I came home because it was time for lunch and I needed some food.

After lunch Carol and I left to visit local thrift stores in search of used books. Carol also had some errands to do while we visited thrift stores. I found these used books today to add to my book collection-

'The Works Of Robert Louis Stevenson' Eight Volumes published in New York City during the 1930's

'Fascism and the Right in Europe 1919-1945' by Martin Blinkhorn

'The Essential Augustine' Edited by Vernon J. Bourke

'Downtown Owl' A Novel by Chuck Klosterman

'Churchill's Trial: Winston Churchill And The Salvation Of Free Government' by Larry P, Arnn

'The Economy Of Prestige: Prizes, Awards, and the Circulation of Cultural Value' by James F. English

When Carol and I got home I wrote in my paper diary and catalogued the used books I bought today into my LibraryThing site Bookmountain.

All I have attempted to read today is from a book titled, 'Black Sun: Depression And Melancholia' by Julia Kristeva Translated by Leon S. Roudiez.

Last night I mainly read before going to bed, 'Everybody Thought We Were Crazy: Dennis Hopper, Brooke Hayward, and 1960s Los Angeles' by Mark Rozzo. I am very tired so I will close.

And must this body die?
This mortal frame decay?
And must these active limbs of mine
Lie moldering in the clay?

Corruption, earth, and worms
Shall but refine this flesh,
Till my triumphant spirit comes
To put it on afresh.

God my Redeemer lives,
And often from the skies
Looks down, and watches all my dust,
Till He shall bid it rise.

Arrayed in glorious grace
Shall these vile bodies shine,
And every shape, and every face,
Look heav’nly and divine.

These lively hopes we owe
To Jesus’ dying love;
We would adore His grace below,
And sing His power above.

Dear Lord, accept the praise
Of these our humble songs,
Till tunes of nobler sound we raise
With our immortal tongues.

4:54 p.m. - 2022-12-27

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Noworry4tzl
patheticness
nikkifoofoo
catsoul
whystinger
mal-adjusted
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
lobo21
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
realthoughts
journey2one
freakyouout
fragilegirl8
msjessica
fan4
trapeze-act