glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Reformation Day

It is 4:26 PM Monday early evening here in Western Michigan. It is a cold wet dark gray day. It is typical late Autumn weather today. It is the last day of October 2022.

I got up this morning around 8 o'clock AM. When I got up Carol was cooking a quiche to take a friend who just lost a daughter.

I left for the Book Nook to volunteer around 9:40 AM this morning. The Book Nook only had two people come in the store to buy some used item. I spent my three hours volunteering reading from book titled, 'Memoirs From Beyond The Grave 1800-1815' by Francois-Rene De Chateaubriand. When I got home from the Book Nook I ate lunch and wrote in my paper diary. Carol was gone when I got home from volunteering at the Book Nook. I did buy one old used book at the Book Nook titled, 'The Abbey of Gethsemani: Place of Peace and Paradox: 150 Years in the Life of America's Oldest Trappist Monastery' by Dianne Aprile.

This afternoon I have been mainly reading, 'The Existence & Attributes of God' Volume 1 by Stephen Charnock. I have been reading in this volume Charnock's discourse On Practical Atheism.

Last night I mainly read late into the night from the book, 'Memoirs From Beyond The Grave 1800-1815' by Francois-Rene De Chateaubriand.

There is not much else to write. Tomorrow is November 1, 2022. I need tomorrow to go to Zeeland and buy sunflower seeds for our birds. I hope tomorrow it will be a sunny day. Time flow circle of Light.

A mighty fortress is our God,
A bulwark never failing;
Our helper He, amid the flood
Of mortal ills prevailing:
For still our ancient foe
Doth seek to work us woe;
His craft and power are great,
And, armed with cruel hate,
On earth is not his equal.

Did we in our own strength confide,
Our striving would be losing;
Were not the right Man on our side,
The Man of God’s own choosing:
Dost ask who that may be?
Christ Jesus, it is He;
Lord Sabaoth, His name,
From age to age the same,
And He must win the battle.

And though this world, with devils filled,
Should threaten to undo us,
We will not fear, for God hath willed
His truth to triumph through us:
The Prince of Darkness grim,
We tremble not for him;
His rage we can endure,
For lo, his doom is sure,
One little word shall fell him.

That word above all earthly powers,
No thanks to them, abideth;
The Spirit and the gifts are ours
Through Him who with us sideth:
Let goods and kindred go,
This mortal life also;
The body they may kill:
God’s truth abideth still,
His kingdom is forever

4:47 p.m. - 2022-10-31

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Noworry4tzl
patheticness
nikkifoofoo
catsoul
whystinger
mal-adjusted
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
lobo21
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
realthoughts
journey2one
freakyouout
fragilegirl8
msjessica
fan4
trapeze-act