glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

the death of words

It is 2:42 PM Monday afternoon here in West Michigan. It is a sunny warm afternoon. I suppose some would say with a silent grin it is perfect day for a walk under a bright late Summer sun. I am tired as usual. I got up this morning around 7:15 AM. When I came upstairs I found Carol reading and dressed for the day.

I had a typical morning today, nothing happened unusual. After Carol and I had devotions she left to go grocery shopping. I wrote in my paper diary and I left to volunteer at the Book Nook around 9:45 AM. The Book Nook was not busy today so I basically went through the used books donation boxes and paper bags seeing what was worth keeping. I read from a used book I bought this morning titled, 'Home Reading Service' A Novel by Fabio Morabito Translated by Curtis Bauer. I also bought these used books today from the Book Nook-'The Barrytown Trilogy-The Commitments, The Snapper, & The Van' fiction by Roddy Doyle, 'Ghost Town' a novel by Robert Coover, and 'Paterson' Poetry William Carlos Williams. On the way home from the Book Nook I stopped at Action House thrift store to look at their used books and found these used books for my library-'Snow White' fiction by Donald Barthelme, 'Daughter Buffalo' a novel by Janet Frame, and 'Uncensored: Views & (Re)Views' Literary Criticism by Joyce Carol Oates.

In the mail this afternoon I received these two books I had ordered from the New York Review-'The Cost Of Living' Early And Uncollected Stories by Marvis Gallant and 'Varieties Of Exile' Stories Selected And With An Introduction By Russell Banks.

Since I have been home I have eaten food, written in my paper diary, fed the birds, put clean water in the bird bath, catalogued the used books I bought today and now I am writing in my online diaries. Time flow circle goes by.

I do not know when I will see Carol again. Life is a mystery. I am tired so I will close to wait.

3:06 p.m. - 2022-08-22

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Noworry4tzl
patheticness
nikkifoofoo
catsoul
whystinger
mal-adjusted
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
lobo21
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
realthoughts
journey2one
freakyouout
fragilegirl8
msjessica
fan4
trapeze-act