glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

the organization man

It is 3:33 PM Monday afternoon here in West Michigan. It is 83 degrees and sunny this afternoon. We turned on last night our central air system to keep the house cool.

I have had a normal Monday thus far. I got up this morning around 7:45 AM. When I came up from our open basement where I sleep I found a note from Carol telling me she had gone grocery shopping. I got myself a cup of coffee and sat in our dining room seeking to wake up (I won't go into detail about what all I do in the mornings. Like I wrote yesterday one could read a thousand pages on what one does in one day in America.) I wrote in my paper diary this morning and I do not recall right now if I had any time to read anything. I do remember Carol coming home around 9:15 AM and me helping unload the car. I won't go into detail about a mishap this morning, because I am not in the mood to write about something of no great importance.

I left to volunteer at our local library used books store The Book Nook around 9:35 AM. At the Book Nook this morning I basically read from a book titled, 'Republic Of Detours: How The New Deal Paid Broke Writers To Rediscover America' by Scott Borchert. I bought these used books at the Book Nook today of my book collection-

'The Organization Man' Sociology by William H. Whyte

'Berkeley: A City In History' by Charles Wollenberg

'Leaving Town Alive: Confessions Of An Arts Warrior' memoir by John Frohnmayer

'The Moral Consequences Of Economic Growth' Economics by Benjamin M. Friedman

'The Annotated Huckleberry Finn' Mark Twain Edited with an introduction and Notes by Michael Patrick Hearn

'This Book-Collecting Game' Books about books by A. Edward Newton

'The Book of Lost Books: An Incomplete History of All the Great Books You'll Never Read' by Stuart Kelly

'A Splendor of Letters: The Permanence of Books in an Impermanent World' by Nicholas A. Basbanes

'Among The Gently Mad: Strategies And Perspectives For The Book Hunter In The Twenty-First Century' by Nicholas A. Basbanes

'Every Book Its Reader: The Power of the Printed Word to Stir the World' by Nicholas Basbanes

'Patience & Fortitude: A Roving Chronicle of Book People, Book Places, and Book Culture' by Nicholas Basbanes

When I got home from the Book Nook I found Carol home eating lunch. I catalogued the used books I bought today into my LibraryThing and then I ate lunch. After lunch I watched Booktube videos till a fellow came from a Tree Service so give us an estimate on how much it is going to cost us to trim trees in our backyard. So has gone by Time this afternoon.

Last night I mainly read from a volume titled, 'Short Stories: Five Decades' by Irwin Shaw and then Carol and I watched PBS Mystery program till 10:30 PM. Now it is another day in the Plan of Salvation. I will close to rest. Our son Josiah did call me yesterday and wished me a Happy Father's Day!

4:03 p.m. - 2022-06-20

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Noworry4tzl
patheticness
nikkifoofoo
catsoul
whystinger
mal-adjusted
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
lobo21
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
realthoughts
journey2one
freakyouout
fragilegirl8
msjessica
fan4
trapeze-act