glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

the soul concentrates upon rejoicing in God's infinite perfections

It is 12:48 PM Thursday early afternoon. Outside it is once again extremely cold, windy, and snowy. Maybe someday we will see once warm weather and sunshine. One can only cross one's finger's and pray.

I woke up this morning at 3 o'clock AM with pain in my right foot and leg. So I got up and got dressed and turned on my portable electric fan and dozed on the lower level sofa till 6:50 AM. I got up and came upstairs to find my wife in her usual spot. I made a pot of oatmeal for breakfast for Carol and I. After breakfast I read for devotions from a book titled, 'The Cross of Jesus' by Louis Chardon, O.C.D.. We prayed and wrote in my paper diary.

Carol had an appointment at the Bluestocking's Book Shop to get rid of some books she no longer wanted. We left here around 9:45 AM for the Bluestocking's Book Shop. While at the Bluestocking's a bunch of books had come in from a Professor who had died and his widow did not want the books and gave them to the Bluestocking's for FREE. I went through the stacks of books from this deceased Professor and bought these for my library-

'Our Paris: Sketches from Memory' memoir by Edmund White & Hubert Sorin

'Worldly Goods: A New History Of The Renaissance' by Lisa Jardine

'Comedy' "Laughter" Henri Bergson, "An Essay on Comedy" George Meredith' Introduction and appendix Wylie Sypher

'The Hellenistic World' By F. W. Walbank

'The Secular Journal Of Thomas Merton' by the author of Seeds of Contemplation

'Second Growth' fiction by Wallace Stegner

'The Persian Expedition' by Xenophon Translated By Rex Warner

'Selected Poems' Jorge Luis Borges Edited by Alexander Coleman

'Decadent Societies' by Robert M. Adams

'An Open Life: Joseph Campbell In Conversation With Michael Toms' Selected And Edited By John M. Maher & Dennie Briggs

'The Brewer Of Preston' A Novel by Andrea Camilleri Translated by Stephen Sartarelli

'The Perfumed Garden of the Shaykh Nefzawi' Translated by Sir Richard Burton

'Einhard And Notker The Stammerer: Two Lives of Charlemagne' Translated With An Introduction By Lewis Thorpe

'Extraordinary Popular Delusions and the Madness of Crowds' by Charles Mackay

'Tacitus On Britain And Germany' A New Translation By H. Mattingly

'Poems' Stephane Mallarme Translated by C. F. MacIntyre

'Venice Observed' by Mary McCarthy

'The Coast of Bohemia' travel memoir by Edith Pargeter

'Renaissance Self-Fashioning From More to Shakespeare' by Stephen Greenblatt

'The Hidden Mark Twain: A Collection Of Little-Known Mark Twain' Edited by Anne Ficklen

'Crowded With Genius The Scottish Enlightenment: Edinburgh's Moment of the Mind' by James Buchan

After buying the above used books Carol and I left the store and stopped at a grocery store. When we got home I ate lunch and here I sit writing in my online diaries. I am very tired, because I got little sleep last night. I will close to take all the used books I bought today down into the lower level.

This evening we are having over for dinner take out Mexican food, Caleb, Emily, and the girls Josie and Cora. Time keeps marching on.

1:40 p.m. - 2022-01-27

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Noworry4tzl
patheticness
nikkifoofoo
catsoul
whystinger
mal-adjusted
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
lobo21
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
realthoughts
journey2one
freakyouout
fragilegirl8
msjessica
fan4
trapeze-act