glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

the cause of individual freedom

It is 5:23 PM Monday evening here in West Michigan. It has been a long day! I am just now getting around to writing down words in my online diaries.

I got up this morning around 8:20 AM. I slept down in the lower level because it seems I sleep deeper and longer. I have discovered in my old age I need more sleep if I am not going go insane from despair and depression. When I got up I found Carol making almond cookies. I fixed myself a pot of oatmeal for breakfast and made a fresh pot of coffee.

After breakfast Carol read from Paul Tripp's devotional book, 'New Morning Mercies' and then we had a time of prayer. After prayer Carol went to deliver books to the ladies in her Neighborhood Woman's Book Club. I left to volunteer at the Book Nook around 9:40 AM. The Book Nook was not busy so I mainly sat and read a used book I bought at the Book Nook that morning titled, 'The Ordeal Of Mark Twain' literary biography by Van Wyck Brooks. I also bought at the Book Nook a used paperback titled, 'Lincoln's Melancholy: How Depression Challenged a President and Fueled His Greatness' biography by Joshua Wolf Shenk.

When I got home from the Book Nook Carol and I drove to Zeeland Feed Store to get sunflower seeds and cracked corn for our birds. While out we visit thrift stores in search of used books and we also stopped at Culver's for hamburgers. I found these used books at several different thrift stores this afternoon-

'Ravished by Beauty: The Surprising Legacy of Reformed Spirituality' By Belden C. Lane (I have another book by Belden C. Lane in my library titled, 'The Solace of Fierce Landscapes: Exploring Desert and Mountain Spirituality').

'The Melody' A Novel by Jim Crace

'Metropolis' A Bernie Gunther Novel By Philip Kerr

'Woman in Front of the Sun" On Becoming A Writer' A Memoir by Judith Ortiz Cofer

'A Time Of Gifts: On Foot to Constantinople from the Hook of Holland to the Middle Danube' Travel Memoir by Patrick Leigh Fermor [New York Review Books]

'Lost Children Archive' A Novel by Valeria Luiselli

When Carol and I got home we racked leaves till it got dark. So has gone by Time. I will close since I am tired. Last night Carol went to bed around 8:25 PM and I watched Professional Football till 10:20 PM and then went to bed. Tomorrow will be another day. Today was a nice sunny blue sky day. I have been taking Xanax to help me get through the month of December. The Lord is my Rock in a weary land.

5:54 p.m. - 2021-12-13

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Noworry4tzl
patheticness
nikkifoofoo
catsoul
whystinger
mal-adjusted
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
lobo21
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
realthoughts
journey2one
freakyouout
fragilegirl8
msjessica
fan4
trapeze-act