glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

the Roman road of salvation

It is 12:42 PM Tuesday afternoon here in West Michigan. It is a cold cloudy afternoon. There is suppose to be sunshine right now but all I see is a cold gray sky.

I got up this morning around 6:45 AM. When I got up Carol and I went out for breakfast at a local bakery. After breakfast we drove home and then took a long walk around our neighborhood. When we got home from our walk I fed our birds and spent the morning writing in my paper diary and reading from a book titled, 'Reformed Systematic Theology: Spirit and Salvation' Volume 3 By Joel R. Beeke & Paul M. Smalley.

This morning Amazon delivered a book I had pre-ordered last year titled, 'The Strudlhot Steps' A Novel By Heimito Von Doderer Translated from the German by Vincent Kling [New York Review Book Classics Original].

I do not know what I will do this afternoon. I am right now feeling OK. Josie comes here for us to baby-sit when she gets out of school. Carol takes an elderly friend to a doctor's appointment around 2 o'clock PM. Time Time Time keeps going by/

Last night we watched Monday Football. Carol went to bed around 8:15 PM and I stayed up and went to bed around 10:15 PM. I mainly read yesterday from a book titled, 'The Ordeal of Mark Twain' a literary biography by Van Wyck Brooks. I have these other books by Van Wyck Brooks in my library-

'New England: Indian Summer 1865-1915' American Literary history by Van Wyck Brooks published 1940

'The World of Washington Irving' By Van Wyck Brooks published 1944

'The Times of Melville and Whitman' Literary Biography by Van Wyck Brooks published 1947

'The Dream Of Arcadia: American Writers and Artists in Italy 1760-1915' By Van Wyck Brooks published in 1958

'The Flowering Of New England: A Literary History 1815-1865' by Van Wyck Brooks published in 1936

'Van Wyck Brooks: In Search of American Culture' biography by James Hoopes

It is 1:01 PM Tuesday afternoon I will close to wait. Time Time Time.

Christ’s Victory, Death and Dominion. John 19. 30

I. Watts C.M.

1
I sing my Saviour’s wondrous death;
He conquered when he fell.
“’Tis finished!” said his dying breath,
And shook the gates of hell.

2
“’Tis finished!” our Immanuel cries;
The dreadful work is done.
Hence shall his sovereign throne arise;
His kingdom is begun.

3
His cross a sure foundation laid
For glory and renown,
When through the regions of the dead
He passed to reach the crown.

4
Exalted at his Father’s side,
Sits our victorious Lord;
To heaven and hell his hands divide
The vengeance or reward.

5
The saints from his propitious eye
Await their several crowns;
And all the sons of darkness fly
The terror of his frowns.

1:07 p.m. - 2021-12-14

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Noworry4tzl
patheticness
nikkifoofoo
catsoul
whystinger
mal-adjusted
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
lobo21
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
realthoughts
journey2one
freakyouout
fragilegirl8
msjessica
fan4
trapeze-act