glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Age of Realism

It is 2:01 PM Tuesday afternoon here in West Michigan. It is a cold gray partly sunny cloudy day. A good day to remain undecided and hopeful.

I have had thus far a typical day. There is nothing striking to record here this afternoon. Obviously I got out of bed this morning. I woke up this morning around 5:45 AM but did not come upstairs till almost 7 o'clock AM. It is a blessing to wake up knowing you are an old man and are retired from the American work force. I do not have to work for my bread and water now I am retired.

This morning I mainly read for devotions from a volume titled, 'Collected Sermons Of James Durham-61 Sermons'. Carol and I did have devotions this morning. I did write a couple of pages in my paper diary this morning.

This morning I did leave the house to do errands like put gas in my old Dodge van and buy a new pair of shoes. I also visited Bluestocking Books Shop, The Gateway Center Thrift Store, Family Fare grocery store, Meijer Gas Station and Goodwill Thrift Store. This morning I bought these used books at these thrift stores and at Bluestocking Books Shop-

'Julian' Historical Fiction by Gore Vida.

'The Atlas of Literature' General Editor Malcolm Bradbury

'Hissing Cousins: The Lifelong Rivalry of Eleanor Roosevelt and Alice Roosevelt Longworth' biography by Marc Peyser & Timothy Dwyer

'Uncommon Carriers' essays by John McPhee

'A Ship Made of Paper' A Novel by Scott Spencer

So Time goes by. Soon our oldest son Caleb will drop off his daughter Josie for us to baby-sit till Emily his wife gets home from work. I will close to make a fresh pot of coffee and rest. All I have attempted to read this afternoon is from a book titled, 'Conversations with Susan Sontag' Edited by Leland Poague. I did last night film a video for my Youtube channel.

IMG_1688

2:31 p.m. - 2021-11-02

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Noworry4tzl
patheticness
nikkifoofoo
catsoul
whystinger
mal-adjusted
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
lobo21
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
realthoughts
journey2one
freakyouout
fragilegirl8
msjessica
fan4
trapeze-act