glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

a holy life is necessary to the reception of holy truths

It is 2:34 PM Monday afternoon here in West Michigan. It another hot sunny day. It is 79 degrees but feels like 90 degrees inside the house. This morning Carol opened up the house and turned off the central air. My wife likes the house opened to let out stale air/the smell of old carpet and old people. Every house has a smell.

I got up this morning around 9:10 AM. It seems I am getting up later and later. I find lately I like laying in bed down in the lower level where it is dark and somewhat quiet. When I am down in the lower level I can hear Carol walking around upstairs. Our bed upstairs is right under the bed down in the lower level. We must have thin floors upstairs because I can hear Carol walking throughout the house. I wonder what the boys heard when they lived down there growing up. So I got up came upstairs Carol was finishing breakfast and talking to a neighbor who had stopped by to give a couple plastic sacks of tomatoes. I fixed myself breakfast, the neighbor left and Carol talked to me as I ate. After breakfast Carol and I had devotions and then I got ready to go volunteer at the local library used books store The Book Nook from 10 AM to 1 PM.

The Book Nook was not busy so I sat and read from the Book of Psalms in the Old Testament/Bible. I bought one used book at the Book Nook to bring home, 'The Routledge Critical and Cultural Theory Reader' Edited By Neil Badmington & Julia Thomas.

This morning Carol went to a Used Books Sale at Bluestockings Book Shop. The sale was one dollar a bag sale and she bought two bags of used books. She grabbed some used books for me and these are the ones I kept, the rest I had so I will take them to the Book Nook this coming Friday to be sold to the public. But these are the used books I did not have or wanted to keep for my library.

'Absolute Truths' A Novel By Susan Howatch

'John Donne And The Seventeenth-Century Metaphysical Poets' Edited and with an Introduction by Harold Bloom

'John Donne (Twayne's English Author Series) By Frank J. Warnke

Carol right now is taking a nap and I am burning up sitting here writing in my online diaries. I will close to cool off.

2:58 p.m. - 2021-08-30

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Noworry4tzl
patheticness
nikkifoofoo
catsoul
whystinger
mal-adjusted
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
lobo21
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
realthoughts
journey2one
freakyouout
fragilegirl8
msjessica
fan4
trapeze-act