glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

the fire of the Holy Spirit

It is 1:27 PM Sunday afternoon here in West Michigan. It is 83 degrees very hot and humid outside today. I am sure the beaches along Lake Michigan are filled. Did you know most of the beaches along Lake Michigan are privately owned. There are very few public beaches along Lake Michigan.

I got up this morning around 7:40 AM. I did not want to get up this morning, but I realized I could not lay in bed all day. So I got up went upstairs to find Carol cooling off after returning from a morning walk. I cooked us breakfast and after breakfast I wrote in my paper diary. Next Carol and I had devotions and prayed.

Carol left for church around 9:35 AM. I spent the morning writing in my paper diary and reading Hugh of Balma's treatise 'The Roads To Zion Mourn' which is found in a book titled, 'Carthusian Spirituality: The Writings Of Hugh Of Balma And Guigo De Ponte' [The Classics Of Western Spirituality].

https://crookedfingers.livejournal.com/tag/christian%20spirituality

When Carol got home from church around 11:55 AM I was still reading Hugh of Balma's treatise. I read the book 'Carthusian Spirituality' from cover to cover at least once a year. I bought the book 'Carthusian Spirituality' when we lived in Houston Texas where I did my ministerial internship in the Presbyterian Church in America (1986-1988). After we did my internship I looked for a call from a PCA church and came up empty. So Carol and I decided to move to Holland MI where Carol grew up/her hometown. We left Houston in 1991 and have lived in this house ever since/8/8/2021/30 years.

When Carol got home from church we had lunch. Well Carol had lunch, I am not in the mood to eat anything this afternoon.

Last night I read from a book titled, 'Depression: Looking Up from the Stubborn Darkness' by Edward T. Welch till I went to bed around 11 o'clock PM. Do not know what I will read the rest of this day. Carol is taking a nap and I do not feel like taking a nap. I will close to make a decision on what to do next.

1:52 p.m. - 2021-08-08

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Noworry4tzl
patheticness
nikkifoofoo
catsoul
whystinger
mal-adjusted
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
lobo21
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
realthoughts
journey2one
freakyouout
fragilegirl8
msjessica
fan4
trapeze-act