glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

it's a fearful thing to fall into the hands of the living God

"[ 3] 3. It's a blessed thing to be able to say thus upon just grounds, because of the terror of death to flesh and blood; We cannot be willing and ready to die, all the while the worms of conscience are gnawing the soul, before worms be gnawing the body; When Simeon had seen Christ, and taken him in his arms, then he saith, Lord, let thy Servant depart in thy Peace, Luk. 2. When Paul hath thus discharged his trust, then I have fought a good fight, and there is laid up for me a Crown of glory; It hath been the case of many good men to have uncomfortable sicknesses, and an uncomfortable death, and what makes it sometimes so but want of this assurance this good testimony about themselves, oh their life troubles them, such sins and such barrenness; They know not what to do; Their hearts are within them, They think of death, and their soul is troubled, so that it's a most desirable thing to have this in thy heart when thou art dying; Oh thou thinkest, Would I might have such a Minister, such a Friend by me when I am dying, I tell thee this is the best friend: It was Augustus his wish, that he might have an 〈 in non-Latin alphabet 〉 a quiet easie death, without pangs and torment, but this is the easiest, the comfortablest, the best dying; Oh that we should preferer any thing before that; Oh that thou shouldst not cry out of every sin, This will trouble me when I am dying.

[ 4] 4. It's a blessed thing to go out of the world, having done Gods work, because we are immediately to appear before him; No sooner is thy soul gone out of the body, but it appeareth before God, he either for thy sinne adjudged it to hell, or because thou art a member of Christ appoints thee to eternal glory, oh then when there is but such distance between God and thy soul, how comfortable is it to have been all thy life time glorifying God? Thou hast been glorifying God, and God comes now to glorifie thee; Thou hast been doing his work, and now he is giving thee the good things promised: Oh Beloved how should this prevail with you, there is but a step between my soul and God, how will God look on me? who can endure his frowns and displeasures? Doth not the Apostle say, It's a fearful thing to fall into the hands of the living God, Heb. 10.3. And now I am falling into Gods hands, either the hands of a merciful Father, or provoked enemy; Well then, while thou art in these conflicts and agonies, what support is it to have this sure evidence; O Lord, in my life time I lived for thee, and to thee, now I come to live with thee: O Lord, In my life time I knew thee, I did thy work, but I was at a vast distance; now I come to the immediate enjoying of thee.

[Reas. 5] 5. Its a blessed thing to have this evidence, because it's of that good which will be eternall: Canst thou truly say thus? then it's an immortall Crown of Glory that is laid up for thee, no more deaths, no more changes, no more fears or tears, thou art made for ever: But of this heretofore.

11:28 a.m. - 2020-11-02

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

patheticness
nikkifoofoo
whystinger
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
mal-adjusted
lobo21
weatethesea
tobehis
catsoul
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
realthoughts
journey2one
freakyouout
fragilegirl8
msjessica
fan4
trapeze-act