glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

the Lost Generation

It is a cold rainy gray Friday afternoon here in west Michigan. As I write I could the thunder rumble off in the distance. We will be having to turn on the heat because it is getting in the low 60's. Winter is quickly approaching once again. Time once again to get out the snow boots.

I have had thus far a normal day the last days of the American Empire. I got up this morning around 7 o'clock AM. Carol had been up since 4 o'clock AM. We went out for breakfast this morning. When we got home from eating out I wrote in my paper diary and read some of the book, 'Participating in Christ: Explorations in Paul's Theology and Spirituality' by Michael J. Gorman.

I left to volunteer at the local library used books store The Book Nook around 9:35 AM. The Book Nook was normal today. My friend Tim came into the store to chat while I was there. It has been ages since we had talked. Tim and I are both loners, but we plan to have coffee next week while Carol is away for a week. At the Book Nook I read from these books-

'The Posthuman Dada Guide' by Andrei Codrescu

'Samuel Johnson Is Indignant' Stories by Lydia Davis

I brought home these used books from the Book Nook today to add to our library-

'Samuel Johnson Is Indignant' Stories by Lydia Davis

'Romance Of The Grail: The Magic and Mystery of Arthurian Myth' by Joseph Campbell

'Warriors of God: Richard The Lionheart And Saladin In The Third Crusade' by James Reston, Jr.

'The Measure of Manhattan-The Tumultuous and Surprising Legacy of John Randel Jr. Cartographer, Surveyor, Inventor' biography by Marguerite Holloway

'Gertrude Stein In Words and Pictures' The salon, Paris, famous friends, Alice B. Toklas, paintings, wars, the Lost Generation and a lifelong passion for sentences With 360 Photographs Edited by Renate Stendhal

'The Perfect Heresy-The Revolutionary Life and Death of the Medieval Cathars' by Stephen O'Shea

'Backward Ran Sentences-The Best of Wolcott Gibbs from The New Yorker' Edited and Introduced By Thomas Vinciguerra

I got home from the Book Nook around 1:10 PM to find Carol in our dining room playing with her cell phone. She has gone to bed to sleep because she works tonight. I am tired as usual. Existence at times can be a pain in the ass.

Last night I watched professional football and read late into the night, 'Fellow Passengers' A Novel in Portraits by Louis Auchincloss.

I will close to doze and hope for a speedy recovery. Tomorrow is a Saturday in the death flow.

2:52 p.m. - 2019-09-27

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

patheticness
nikkifoofoo
catsoul
oct0ber
whystinger
browndamask
mal-adjusted
koorikaze
lobo21
weatethesea
tobehis
raven72d
jondavid2010
journey2one
newschick
freakyouout
realthoughts
fragilegirl8
msjessica
fan4
trapeze-act