glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

cleansing the doors of perception

It is in the flow of existence 7:34 PM Friday evening here in west Michigan. It has been a hot humid day. I am thankful for central air so as to keep the house from becoming an oven.

It has been a long day, but we are doing alright considering everything going on. Soon the grandchildren will have their baths and then go to bed. Everyone plans to go to bed early except me. Carol has been up since 4:30 AM this morning. She got up early to cook food for company. I got up around 6:30 AM. I do not remember right now if anyone was up. Wait a minute there was only Carol and I when I got up this morning. Josiah, Hannah, and Marika are staying down the street at Caleb and Emily's while they are visiting.

Eventually everyone showed up this morning for a big family breakfast. I left around 9:40 AM to volunteer at the local library used books store The Book Nook. I had a busy morning at the Book Nook, but nothing too crazy. I did have a nice couple come into the store and said so you are Jonny Keen. I said Yes I am Jonny Keen and they said they know me from my Booktube channel. Also they brought greetings from a friend of their's who also watches my Booktube channel. We had a nice visit and I told them to give greetings to their friend Dave you watches my videos. The couple had me sign a book for their friend and also took a photo of me with their cell phone.

While at the Book Nook I read from a novel titled, 'The Death Of My Brother Abel' by Gregor Von Rezzori Translated By Joachim Neugroschel. I brought home from the Book Nook there used books for our library-

'Cleansing the Doors of Perception: The Religious Significance of Entheogenic Plants and Chemicals' by Huston Smith

'The Voyage Of The Frolic: New England Merchants And The Opium Trade' by Thomas N. Layton

When I got home from the Book Nook Caleb and Josiah were here and wanted to visit thrift stores. So I ate lunch and we left to visit thrift stores. I did not come across any used books at these thrift stores to buy for our library.

We had everyone here for dinner and now folks have gone home. Beth, Andy, and the kids are here and will be soon taking a bath and going to bed.

I did received from Amazon this evening a two part novel titled, 'Abel And Cain' by Gregor Von Rezzori Introduction By Joshua Cohen.

Tomorrow morning we will have family pictures taken and then we are having a big feast at Caleb's.

I will close for the night. Tomorrow is a Saturday. We are coming to the end of June 2019.

7:56 p.m. - 2019-06-28

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

patheticness
nikkifoofoo
catsoul
oct0ber
whystinger
browndamask
mal-adjusted
koorikaze
lobo21
weatethesea
tobehis
raven72d
jondavid2010
journey2one
newschick
freakyouout
realthoughts
fragilegirl8
msjessica
fan4
trapeze-act