glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

as God gave the elect to his Son, the mystical union began to be active

It is 3:14 PM Friday afternoon here in West Michigan. It is a sunny cold day. I have had thus far a normal day. I picked up Carol at the Grand Rapids Airport around 4:20 PM. Her plane was 40 minutes late flying into GR, but now she is home. After picking up Carol we drove back to Holland and had dinner with Caleb, Emily, Josie and Cora Leigh. We got home from Caleb's around 8 o'clock PM and went to bed around 10:30 PM.

Yesterday I left for Grand Rapids around 10:50 AM and got into GR around 11:30 AM. The first place I drove to in GR was a used books store that I have been visiting for 40 years. This used books store is near where Carol and I went to college many years ago. The store is not own by the people I knew forty years ago, but it still has a good selection of used books. The one thing buy about this used books store is that the used books are expensive! At this used books store I wanted to look for used books by Carolyn Chute and Bonnie Jo Campbell. I did find a novel that I wanted by Campbell titled, 'Once Upon A River'but nothing by Chute was in the store. I looked around and bought the novel by Campbell and two other used books-

'Letters of Wallace Stevens' Selected And Edited By Holly Stevens

'Joseph Conrad: A Chronicle' biography by Zdzislaw Najder

I should mention that before I left for Grand Rapids yesterday I visited a local thrift store and bought these two used books-

'As Thousands Cheer: The Life Of Irving Berlin' biography by Laurence Bergreen

'A World At Arms: A Global History Of World War II' by Gerhard L. Weinberg

Going back to what I did in Grand Rapids before picking up Carol at the airport. After the used books store I drove to East Grand Rapids Library to check out their used books, but that place they sold used books was block off due to laying new carpet. So I left the library and drove over Baker Christian Books Store to hang out for awhile. Baker Book House is a big store, they sell new, damaged and used Christian books. Carol and I have been going to Baker House for 40 years also. Baker is a nice place to hang out if you are into serious Christian literature. This store also has a coffee shop and Wi-Fi. I looked at the new books but saw nothing that I wanted and I also looked at the slightly damaged books and saw nothing. I took a rest and sat for awhile writing in my paper diary and then decided to look at their very large selection of used books. In talking to one of clerk's he mentioned they had bought a minister's library so I looked at those books and came across a used book that fit just what I have been reading and thinking a lot about lately in my Christian theological studies. The used book that caught my interest and that I bought was titled, 'Being In Christ: A Biblical and Systematic Investigation in a Reformed Perspective' by Hans Burger.

After Bake Book House I drove to a Wendy's Fast Food place near the airport and had lunch. After lunch I wrote in my paper diary and read. After Wendy's I drove over to the airport and picked up Carol (she was 40 minutes late in getting into GR). It was so nice to see Carol back home and getting life back to normal. She works tonight so she is now sleeping as I type these words.

Today I volunteered at the local library used books store and when not helping folks with their materials I read, 'Being In Christ: A Biblical and Systematic Investigation in a Reformed Perspective' by Hans Burger. I brought home from the Book Nook these used books to ADD to our library-

'The Accursed' A novel by Joyce Carol Oates

'The Pharmacy-Windows on History' Edited by Regine Potzsch

'William Morris: Artist, Craftsman, & Pioneer' Table Book by R. Ormiston & N.M. Wells

So the day has gone by. I am tired so I will close to drift. Tomorrow is a Saturday.

4:28 p.m. - 2019-03-22

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

patheticness
nikkifoofoo
catsoul
oct0ber
whystinger
browndamask
mal-adjusted
koorikaze
lobo21
weatethesea
tobehis
raven72d
jondavid2010
journey2one
newschick
freakyouout
realthoughts
fragilegirl8
msjessica
fan4
trapeze-act