glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Obama sings Amazing Grace



The old gospel hymn 'Amazing Grace' was written by John Newton. At one time Newton was in the slave trade.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/John_Newton

Amazing grace! How sweet the sound
That saved a wretch like me!
I once was lost, but now am found;
Was blind, but now I see.

’Twas grace that taught my heart to fear,
And grace my fears relieved;
How precious did that grace appear
The hour I first believed!

Through many dangers, toils and snares,
I have already come;
’Tis grace hath brought me safe thus far,
And grace will lead me home.

The Lord has promised good to me,
His Word my hope secures;
He will my shield and portion be,
As long as life endures.

Yea, when this flesh and heart shall fail,
And mortal life shall cease,
I shall possess, within the veil,
A life of joy and peace.

The earth shall soon dissolve like snow,
The sun forbear to shine;
But God, who called me here below,
Will be forever mine.

When we’ve been there ten thousand years,
Bright shining as the sun,
We’ve no less days to sing God’s praise
Than when we’d first begun.

"One thing I know: that though I was blind, now I see" John 9:25

http://www.hymntime.com/tch/htm/a/m/a/amazing_grace.htm

Notice John Newton alludes in this hymn to spiritual illumination "was blind, but now I see". Newton was awakened to see his sinfulness "a wretch like me". But throughout the hymn Newton acknowledges God's divine grace in his salvation-

’Twas grace that taught my heart to fear,
And grace my fears relieved;
How precious did that grace appear
The hour I first believed!

You can buy the complete Works of John Newton presently. At one time I had Newton's Works but sold them years ago. John Newton also wrote another hymn that I do not hear often sung titled, 'Day of Judgment! Day of Wonders!'-

Day of judgment! Day of wonders!
Hark! the trumpet’s awful sound,
Louder than a thousand thunders,
Shakes the vast creation round!
How the summons wilt the sinner’s heart confound!

See the judge, our nature wearing,
Clothed in majesty divine!
You who long for His appearing
Then shall say, This God is mine!
Gracious Savior, own me in that day for Thine!

At His call the dead awaken,
Rise to life from earth and sea;
All the powers of nature shaken
By His look, prepares to flee.
Careless sinner, what will then become of thee?

Horrors, past imagination,
Will surprise your trembling heart,
When you hear your condemnation,
Hence, accursed wretch, depart!
Thou, with Satan and his angels, have thy part!

Satan, who now tries to please you,
Lest you timely warning take,
When that word is past, will seize you,
Plunge you in the burning lake:
Think, poor sinner, thy eternal all’s at stake.

But to those who have confessèd,
Loved and served the Lord below,
He will say, Come near, ye blessèd,
See the kingdom I bestow;
You forever shall My love and glory know.

Under sorrows and reproaches,
May this thought your courage raise!
Swiftly God’s great day approaches,
Sighs shall then be changed to praise.
We shall triumph when the world is in a blaze.

"The Works of John Newton" Four Volumes published by the Banner of Truth Trust
http://www.heritagebooks.org/products/the-works-of-john-newton-4-volumes.html

8:52 a.m. - 2015-06-27

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

nikkifoofoo
catsoul
whystinger
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
mal-adjusted
lobo21
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
journey2one
realthoughts
freakyouout
fan4
msjessica
trapeze-act
fragilegirl8