glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

set your mind on things above

It is now in the flow 8:24 AM Saturday morning. It is a cold rainy dark morning here by Lake Michigan. Maybe we will see some sunshine today.

I ate my oatmeal and then went downstairs to turn on my lap top computer. Carol is going to the Farmer's Market and then to a Craft Fair this morning. I am staying home to prepare myself to leave the house for the library book nook.

As I mentioned earlier last night I read "Toward The End Of Time" a novel by John Updike. I also read last night from these two books, "About Town: The New Yorker and the World It Made" by Ben Yogoda and "Updike" a biography by Adam Begley.

This morning I should read my religious books. I remember these words of the apostle Paul, "If then you were raised with Christ, seek those things which are above, where Christ is, sitting at the right hand of God. Set your mind on things above, not on things on the earth. For you died, and your life is hidden with Christ in God. When Christ who is our life appears, then you also will appear with Him in glory" Colossians 3:1-4.

I wanted to mentioned that there is another commentary series worth checking out if you are into the history of biblical interpretation. As you know I have been reading for a couple of months a commentary on "John 1-12" in the Reformation Commentary on Scripture series. The aim of the Reformation Commentary On Scripture series is "to retrieve the wisdom of the Reformers for the renewal of the church today" "these volumes assemble exegetical and theological comments on the entire canon of Scripture by a vast array of Reformation era thinkers and leaders".

Here is a list of volumes already published in the Reformation Commentary On Scripture series-

"Genesis 1-11" Old Testament I Reformation Commentary On Scripture Edited By John L. Thompson

"Ezekiel, Daniel" Old Testament XII Reformation Commentary On Scripture Edited By Carl L. Beckwith

"Acts" New Testament VI Reformation Commentary On Scripture Edited By Esther Chung-Kim & Todd R. Hains

"Galatians, Ephesians" New Testament X Reformation Commentary On Scripture Edited By Gerald L. Bray

"Philippians, Colossians" New Testament XI Reformation Commentary On Scripture Edited By Graham Tomlin

Check out this book when reading the above commentaries, "Reading Scripture With The Reformers" by Timothy George.

Well I will close to get ready for the library book nook. This afternoon we will watch college football.

8:57 a.m. - 2014-10-18

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

catsoul
nikkifoofoo
whystinger
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
mal-adjusted
lobo21
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
journey2one
realthoughts
freakyouout
trapeze-act
msjessica
fragilegirl8
fan4