glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

the American writer Michael Chabon

It is 5:03 PM Tuesday evening in the flow. I am down in the lower level washing clothes. I also washing all the rags that I used today when our kitchen sink overflowed. I hope the plumber does nothing major tomorrow. To have a leaky faucet fixed recently cost us $175.00 dollars! All the plumber did was tighten something. To have our garage door fixed last week cost us around $200.00 dollars.

This afternoon I have been wandering the house and reading the novel "The Heartsong Of Charging Elk" by James Welch.

I mentioned earlier that today one of the used books I found today was a volume of short stories by the American writer Michael Chabon. I collect the writings of Chabon and this volume was one of his earliest books. A writer a true writer is always writing. A true writer writes because it is her or his calling. Mark Helprin is a writer who has put out several novels and collection of short stories throughout his life. In that interview I posted of Helprin he mentions that he knew he was a writer when he was 17 years old. Well I know I am not meant to be a writer a long time ago. I am a Christian longing to see the Lord Jesus face to face. I remember these words of the apostle John, "Beloved, now we are children of God; and it has not yet been revealed what we shall be, but we know that when He is revealed, we shall be like Him; for we shall see Him as He is. And everyone who has this hope in Him purifies himself, just as He is pure." First John 3:2,3.

I will list the books I have by Michael Chabon in our library-

"A Model World And Other Stories" by Michael Chabon

"Summerland" a novel by Michael Chabon

"Werewolves in Their Youth" Stories by Michael Chabon

"A Story of Detection" novella by Michael Chabon

"Manhood for Amateurs: The Pleasures and Regrets of a Husband, Father, and Son" memoir by Michael Chabon

"Gentlemen Of The Road" novel by Michael Chabon

"The Yiddish Policemen's Union" a novel by Michael Chabon

"The Mysteries of Pittsburgh" a novel by Michael Chabon

"Wonder Boys" a novel by Michael Chabon

"Telegraph Avenue" a novel by Michael Chabon

I will close to put wet clothes in our dryer. Tonight I will read my books and watch television. What else can this poor man do?

music: Aphex Twin "Syro"

5:35 p.m. - 2014-09-23

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

catsoul
nikkifoofoo
whystinger
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
mal-adjusted
lobo21
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
journey2one
realthoughts
freakyouout
trapeze-act
msjessica
fragilegirl8
fan4