glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

by his death Jesus will deal Satan a crushing blow

It is 10:45 AM Wednesday morning in the flow of existence. It is a cold sunny morning. It still does not feel like Spring time.

I have been sitting in our living room enjoying outer and inner silence.

I got up this morning around 7 o'clock AM. I got up made coffee and made pancakes for breakfast. After breakfast I cleaned the kitchen and then messed with our main computer.

After messing with our main computer I wrote in my paper diary and then read Bock's commentary on the Acts of the Apostles (NT). I have been reading besides Bock's commentary on Acts a small book titled, "A Sunlit Absence: Silence, Awareness, and Contemplation" by Martin Laird. I also got out Laird's small book "Into The Silent Land: A Guide to the Christian Practice of Contemplation". I got out these books because last night while having dinner with my Christian friend Tim we talked about the Christian practice of silence or contemplative silence. I often spend hours in contemplative silence AFTER reading the Bible. We read the Bible, meditate on what we have read in God's Word and then enter into a contemplative silence before the Lord God. Meditation and Contemplation are two different stages of prayer. We never enter silence without a foundational (saving) knowledge of God as revealed in the Bible. We enter into silence with a heart directed towards the Lord Jesus Christ. We set our hearts on the Lord Jesus in silent loving adoration.

I mentioned to Tim last night this book that I read at least once a year, "Carthusian Spirituality: The Writings Of Hugh Of Balma And Guigo De Ponte" [The Classics of Western Spirituality].

I have no plans for the day. I should go for a walk while the sun is shining. I am waiting for Carol to call me before leaving the house.

Well I suppose I will close. Last night I watched television and read, "The Final Days Of Jesus" by Andreas J. Kostenberger & Justin Taylor.

11:04 a.m. - 2014-04-02

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

catsoul
whystinger
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
lobo21
mal-adjusted
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
journey2one
realthoughts
freakyouout
trapeze-act
msjessica
fragilegirl8
fan4