glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

must be brave

It is now in the flow of existence 10:56 AM Wednesday morning. Carol left to do errands and the
boys are up to face life in a sin cursed world. I have been reading "Tree of Smoke" this morning and wandering my cell.

Do not know what else needs to be reported this morning. I feel like writing that is why I came to my study to write on my lap top. Caleb is messing with my main computer and Josiah is reading a novel in the living room. Not much else to write that is current. Outside it is dark and it feels like it is going to rain this afternoon.

I feel like going back to bed but I won't because I must be brave. Well I will close to read "Tree of Smoke" and see what develops.

music: Ray Lamontagne "Trouble"

Time has gone by like it did yesterday. What is the time now? It is 4:09 PM Wednesday late afternoon. I have done nothing important today. I have been wandering the house and reading "Tree of Smoke" a novel by Denis Johnson.

Carol has to bed for the day. Caleb is messing with my computer and Josiah is down in the basement throwing darts at the wall.

In the mail today I received a Father's Day card from Beth containing a $20.00 dollar bill. I have been carrying around in my wallet for weeks a one single dollar bill. Now I have a twenty dollar bill and a one dollar bill. I am a rich man!

Carol told me before going to bed that the boys are buying take out pizza tonight for dinner. Now we do not have to worry about our next meal. The Lord provides for His people in the wasteland.

This morning I wrote about Denis Johnson. I meant to write about the books I have on Christian Spirituality in my study. One can know someone by their books. Can you know someone who has no books? It is sad to live on a level where there is no love for learning. I know there are many people in america who only have time for work and entertainment. So I do not expect the herd to be lovers of wisdom.

So here is a list of books I have near me on Christian Spirituality (Mysticism)---

�The Song of Songs: Interpreted by Early Christian and Medieval Commentators� [The Church�s Bible] translator and editor Richard A. Norris Jr.

�The Poems of St. John of the Cross� Translated, with an introduction by Willis Barnstone

�The Prayer of Love and Silence� A Carthusian

�Into The Silent Land: A Guide to the Christian Practice of Contemplation� by Martin Laird

�The Hermitage Within� A Monk

�The Interior Castle� by St. Teresa of Avila [The Classics Of Western Spirituality
�The Spiritual Writings of Denis the Carthusian� Translated into English by Ide M. Ni Riain, RSCJ, with an Introduction by Terence O�Reilly

�The Collected Works Of St. John Of The Cross� Translated by Kieran Kavanaugh, O.C.D. & Otilio Rodriguez, O.C.D. (three copies two paperback editions and one hardback edition)

�Silent Music: The Life, Work, and Thought of St. John of the Cross� by R. A. Herrera

�Carthusian Spirituality: The Writings Of Hugh Of Balma And Guigo De Ponte� [The Classics Of Western Spirituality]

�The Cloud Of Unknowing� [The Classics Of Western Spirituality]

�The Pursuit Of Wisdom and other Works by the author of The Cloud of Unknowing� [The Classics of Western Spirituality]

�Sacred Companions: The Gift of Spiritual Friendship & Direction� by David G. Benner

"Holy Wisdom Or Directions for the Prayer of Contemplation Extracted out of more than Forty Treatises" By The Ven. Father F. Augustin Baker

�Writings From The Philokalia On Prayer Of The Heart� Translated by E. Kadloubovsky and G. E. H. Palmer

�The Way of a Pilgrim and The Pilgrim Continues His Way� Translated from the Russian by R. M. French

�Contemplative Prayer� by Thomas Merton

�Spiritual Direction� by Martin Thornton

�Guigo II: Ladder Of Monks And Twelve Meditations� translated with introduction by Edmund Colledge, OSA and James Walsh, SJ

I only have a few books on Christian Spirituality in my study, 95% of my library is down in our basement. I am a student of Christian mysticism/spirituality. When one knows life is but a vapor he can�t take seriously the materialistic world. One embraces the Mystic Way when it is made plain that the world is headed for a day of fiery cleansing.

I am tired so I will close to wait for the end. I read today that Damien Jurado has a new record coming out in the Fall of 2008. Good news for music lovers.

music: Damien Jurado "Rehearsals For Departure"

7:00 p.m. - 2008-06-25

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

freakyouout
jonathan
fragilegirl8
broken-in-nc
msjessica
poolagirl
fan4
joy-in-god
trapeze-act
oldjake
jedidiah77
silverluna
talktogod
realthoughts