glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

\"Eve of Destruction\" a song by Barry McGuire

The eastern world, it is exploding
Violence flarin�, bullets loadin�
You�re old enough to kill, but not for votin�
You don�t believe in war, but what�s that gun you�re totin�
And even the Jordan River has bodies floatin�

But you tell me
Over and over and over again, my friend
Ah, you don�t believe
We�re on the eve
of destruction.

Don�t you understand what I�m tryin� to say
Can�t you feel the fears I�m feelin� today?
If the button is pushed, there�s no runnin� away
There�ll be no one to save, with the world in a grave
[Take a look around ya boy, it's bound to scare ya boy]

And you tell me
Over and over and over again, my friend
Ah, you don�t believe
We�re on the eve
of destruction.

Yeah, my blood�s so mad feels like coagulatin�
I�m sitting here just contemplatin�
I can�t twist the truth, it knows no regulation.
Handful of senators don�t pass legislation
And marches alone can�t bring integration
When human respect is disintegratin�
This whole crazy world is just too frustratin�

And you tell me
Over and over and over again, my friend
Ah, you don�t believe
We�re on the eve
of destruction.

Think of all the hate there is in Red China
Then take a look around to Selma, Alabama
You may leave here for 4 days in space
But when you return, it�s the same old place
The poundin� of the drums, the pride and disgrace
You can bury your dead, but don�t leave a trace
Hate your next-door neighbor, but don�t forget to say grace
And� tell me over and over and over and over again, my friend
You don�t believe
We�re on the eve
Of destruction
Mm, no no, you don�t believe
We�re on the eve
of destruction.

11:04 a.m. - 2006-08-20

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

freakyouout
jonathan
fragilegirl8
broken-in-nc
msjessica
poolagirl
fan4
joy-in-god
trapeze-act
oldjake
jedidiah77
silverluna
talktogod
realthoughts