glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

the realm of typology

the realm of typology

It is now 9:15 PM in the flow of existence. Right now I am feeling better. I threw up five times this afternoon and by early evening I felt ok. We went out for dinner and to visit Barnes & Nobles. Now we are home chilling out listening to music and reading books. Tomorrow is the beginning of another work week. Maybe Josiah and I will go to Messiah Independent Reformed Church tomorrow morning? This evening at Barnes & Nobles Josiah bought another book by Charles Bukowski. I only have a book of short stories titled "Hot Water Music" by Bukowski in my book collection. Years ago I was into Bukowski but then lost interest. I next got into the music of Tom Waits after Bukowski. I did look for tonight Bukowski's novel "Post Office" but they did not have it. So the evening goes by. Before we left to go eat (I did not eat anything but drank Dr. Pepper) I read two articles from "Dictionary Of The Later New Testament & Its Development" I read the article 'New Testament Theology' and the article 'The Kingdom of God'. This afternoon while feeling sick as old horse I read from the book "New Covenant Theology: Description, Definition, and Defense" by Tom Wells & Fred Zaspel Foreword by Douglas Moo. I also read today from the book "The Bible in the Sixteenth Century" two essays 'The Hermeneutic of Promise and Fulfillment in Calvin's Exegesis of the Old Testament Prophecies of the Kingdom' by Richard A. Muller and 'Hebraica Veritas Traditio Apostolica: Saint Paul and the Interpretation of the Psalms in the Sixteenth Century' by R. Gerald Hobbs. I had a quiet day listening to music and reading my books. What else is there to do as you wait to go to heaven?

There is nothing on my mind to write. I am blank. I want to write but there is nothing on my mind to write about.

This verse from the Epistle to the Hebrews has been going through my mind all week "and have tasted the good word of God and the powers of the age to come" Heb. 6:5. What does it mean to TASTE "the powers of the age to come"? In looking through my commentaries on Hebrews I found these remarks on Heb. 6:5 "the powers of the age to come", I would understand all those circumstances peculiar to the new dispensation which are calculated to have power over the mind and heart of man. Everything that is striking and convincing in its evidence,-everything in its statements, as to the character of God, the person and work of Christ, the solemnities of the judgment-seat, the joys and miseries of eternity, which is calculated to persuade or alarm,- everything, in a word, which in that economy, is fitted to exercise influence over men,-all this is included in the phrase, "the powers of the world to come." "pg.288,289 John Brown (1784-1858)

I will close to taste the powers of the world to come. "For it is impossible for those who were once enlightened, and have tasted the heavenly gift, and have become partakers of the Holy Spirit" Heb. 6:4

11:05 p.m. - 2003-03-15

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

freakyouout
jonathan
fragilegirl8
broken-in-nc
msjessica
poolagirl
fan4
joy-in-god
trapeze-act
oldjake
jedidiah77
silverluna
talktogod
realthoughts