glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

at the summit is but union in love

at the summit there is but union in love

"As Bonaventure says, "The six wings of the Seraph can rightly be taken to symbolize the six levels of illumination by which, as if by steps or stages, the soul can pass over to peace through ecstatic elevations of Christian wisdom."

"He who has My commandments and keeps them, it is he who loves Me. And he who loves Me will be loved by My Father, and I will love him and manifest Myself to him." John 14:21

I am trying to stay awake and read my books. Carol went to bed and Bethany is getting ready to go to work. I have been reading the article on St. Bonaventure in the book "The Westminster Dictionary of Christian Spirituality" Edited by Gordon Wakefield. When we lived in Houston TX I bought the Works of St. Bonaventure. I highly recommend Bonaventure's treatise "The Soul's Journey Into God" [The Classics Of Western Spirituality].

The people who own the drapery store we bought our window treatments from this morning use to live in Jackson Miss. where I went to seminary. Also the woman who is the wife of the owner is the daughter of folks who go to Messiah Independent Reformed Church where we go to church. When these folks lived in Miss. they were members of a PCA church where a girlfriend of Carol's now attends.It is a small world! One of my seminary professors went to their church in Miss., his name is Dr. Ralph Davies-I have four books by him in my book collection. These folks now go to the PCA church here in Holland. They knew we were members of Messiah, because they have visited in the past. I told them I do not fit anywhere spiritually. I do not agree with the Dutch Reformed. I do not embrace Dutch Reformed sacramental theology- Dutch Reformed view of the Law- Dutch Reformed covenantal theology. I told them when I was in seminary I was introduced to the teachings of the apostle Paul and was forever ruined. The Dutch Reformed do not embrace Pauline Theology, they are basically Old Testament Jews. I am sure by the reaction I received these people did not have a clue on what I was talking about. They seem harmless in their Christian existence. People were coming into to their store so Carol and I left to finish our morning errands.

I wonder why there are no Christian who I can relate to in the american religious establishment? Why are there no New Testament churches in the world?

Well I will close to read my books and listen to the new Calexico CD "Feast of Wines".

Tomorrow starts another work week. There is no escape from pain.

4:34 p.m. - 2003-03-01

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

freakyouout
jonathan
fragilegirl8
broken-in-nc
msjessica
poolagirl
fan4
joy-in-god
trapeze-act
oldjake
jedidiah77
silverluna
talktogod
realthoughts