glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

the stillness of the mind

It is 1:02 PM Saturday afternoon here in Western Michigan. It is 82 degrees and cloudy/gray cloudy skies. I am tired as usual. I heard Carol get up around 4:15 AM. I can hear Carol walking around since my bed is under the upstairs floor. I can hear Carol get up and wander the house. I often wonder what our sons heard when they slept down in the lower level. So finally I got up around 6 o'clock AM because I was curious why Carol was walking all over the house. Usually Carol gets up, makes a fresh pot of coffee, eats a slice of toast smeared with raw peanut butter and then reads her Bible and prays.

So I was up early this morning so right now I feel like road kill. Carol and I had devotions before she left to go grocery shopping around 7:30 AM. I spent the morning writing in my paper diary and reading from a book titled, '"Quid Gloraries In Malita" Commentary On The Davidic Psalms Volume III Psalms 51-75 By Denis the Carthusian. Carol was back from grocery shopping around 7:59 AM. When she got home I was still reading Denis the Carthusian.

I left the house this morning alone to visit the Warehouse Used Books Store in Fennville MI which is about 15 minutes from where we live. At the Warehouse this morning I found these used books to add to my library-

'The Reformation' [The Penguin History Of The Church Vol. 3] by Owen Chadwick

'Harry & Catherine' A Novel by Frederick Busch

'Exile's Return: A Literary Odyssey of the 1920's' Literary history by Malcolm Cowley

'Love And Hydrogen' New And Selected Stories by Jim Shepard

'St. Petersburg: Madness, Murder, and Art on the Banks of the Neva' Russian history by Jonathan Miles

'The Better Of McSweeney's' Volume One-Issues 1-10 Stories And Letters published 2005 McSweeney's Books San Francisco

On the way home from the Warehouse Used Books Store I stopped at Richomd Bridge Park to walk and take some photos. I was home by 11:40 AM. Carol was still here baking blueberry muffins. This afternoon she helps serve food after a funeral being held at her church.

I will close to drift.

"[1] This second epistle, beloved, I now write unto you; in both which I stir up your pure minds by way of remembrance:
[2] That ye may be mindful of the words which were spoken before by the holy prophets, and of the commandment of us the apostles of the Lord and Saviour:
[3] Knowing this first, that there shall come in the last days scoffers, walking after their own lusts,
[4] And saying, Where is the promise of his coming? for since the fathers fell asleep, all things continue as they were from the beginning of the creation.
[5] For this they willingly are ignorant of, that by the word of God the heavens were of old, and the earth standing out of the water and in the water:
[6] Whereby the world that then was, being overflowed with water, perished:
[7] But the heavens and the earth, which are now, by the same word are kept in store, reserved unto fire against the day of judgment and perdition of ungodly men.
[8] But, beloved, be not ignorant of this one thing, that one day is with the Lord as a thousand years, and a thousand years as one day.
[9] The Lord is not slack concerning his promise, as some men count slackness; but is longsuffering to us-ward, not willing that any should perish, but that all should come to repentance." 2 Peter 3:1-9

1:57 p.m. - 2023-08-05

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Noworry4tzl
patheticness
nikkifoofoo
catsoul
whystinger
mal-adjusted
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
lobo21
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
realthoughts
journey2one
freakyouout
fragilegirl8
msjessica
fan4
trapeze-act