glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

human nature requires communion with the divine nature in order to be complete

It is 3:09 PM Tuesday afternoon here in small town America. It is 42 degrees and gray. Miserable weather lately here in West Michigan. No hard evidence yet that is actually Spring time. Sometimes I think we have entered into another Ice Age.

I got up this morning around 7:05 AM. I got out of bed around 7:05 AM but I had been awake since 4 o'clock AM I just did not want to get up. In the old days I use to get up real early and sit in silence. Those were the days Carol worked Nights. Back in those days I would just sit in the mornings enjoying the peace and quiet. Not having to rush off to some dead end job. Just sit and morning dream.

So I got up and found Carol reading in the living room. She had been up since 5:20 AM. It was a normal morning for us. I made oatmeal for breakfast. After breakfast I wrote in my paper diary then Carol and I had devotions. For devotions Carol and I have been reading through Volume 1 of 'The Institutes of the Christian Religion' by John Calvin and then we are reading, 'The Valley of Vision' A collection of Puritan Prayers & Devotions. I spent the morning reading from these two books-'The Interior Sense of Scripture-The Sacred Hermeneutics of John W. Nevin' by William DiPuccio and 'Five Things Theologians Wish Biblical Scholars Knew' by Hans Boersma.

During the afternoon hours I started loading up one of our two cars with old used books to take to a local used books store tomorrow. Carol is also loading up her car with used books to take also to the Bluestocking Books Shoppe tomorrow. It is time to unload some books.

I got a phone call from the Book Nook telling me some books I had set aside had been priced and I could come and pay for them-so I left the house and went to the Book Nook I picked up these used books for my book collection-

'Time Bites: Views And Reviews' by Doris Lessing

'Ready For A Brand New Beat: How "Dancing In The Street" Became The Anthem For A Changing America' by Mark Kurlansky

'Why Orwell Matters' Literary Criticism by Christopher Hitchens

'The Diary Of Samuel Pepys' Three Volumes [Everyman's Library] Newly Edited By John Warrington (No. 53, No. 54 & No. 55)

'The Illustrated Pepys' From the Diary Selected & Edited by Robert Latham

'Atlas Maior of 1665' "The Greatest And Finest Atlas Ever Published" Joan Blaeu [TASCHEN]

After leaving the Book Nook on the way home I stopped at Action House to look at their used books and bought these two old used books-

'The Saint's Everlasting Rest' By The Rev. Richard Baxter Abridged by Benjamin Fawcett (a old Vintage book published in the early 1800's by the American Tract Society)

'A Sentimental Education' Stories by Joyce Carol Oates

When I got home Amazon delivered a new book I had ordered titled, 'Journey To The South' A Novel by Michal Ajvaz Translated by Andrew Oakland

So this day goes by. Carol picked up Josie from her school today so she is playing in our dining room. I will close to fill up my car with some more old used books. Last night I mainly read late into the night from a book titled, 'Danube' history/travel by Claudio Magris Translated from the Italian by Patrick Creagh.

3:40 p.m. - 2023-05-02

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Noworry4tzl
patheticness
nikkifoofoo
catsoul
whystinger
mal-adjusted
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
lobo21
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
realthoughts
journey2one
freakyouout
fragilegirl8
msjessica
fan4
trapeze-act