glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Come to Calvary's holy mountain

It is 2:23 PM Friday afternoon HERE in West Michigan. It is 47 degrees and sunny this afternoon. Someone said today it feels like the first day of Spring. It is Good Friday and it is a day to remember the blood shed on Calvary.

I got up this morning around 7:07 AM. When I came upstairs I found my wife reading her ESV Bible. I took my morning pills, at a banana and then made a pot of oatmeal for breakfast. After breakfast Carol read 'The Valley of Vision' and then we had a season of prayer before the Cross of Christ.

Carol left to help fold church bulletins around 9:15 AM and I left to volunteer at the Book Nook around 9:40 AM. Today the Book Nook was not busy so I mainly wandered the store and read from a novel titled, 'The Hive' by Camilo Jose Cela Translated By James Womack. At the Book Nook today I bought one used paperback for my library titled, 'Reporting Vietnam: American Journalism 1959-1975' Introduction by Ward Just Foreword by Milton J. Bates [Library of America].

When I got home from the Book I ate lunch and then wrote in my paper diary. I am tired as usual. Last night I read late into the night from a book titled, 'The Letters Of William Gaddis' Edited By Steven Moore Afterword By Sarah Gaddis.

I will close to drift. It will soon be time to kiss it all good-bye.

Come to Calvary’s holy mountain,
Sinners, ruined by the fall;
Here a pure and healing fountain
Flows to you, to me, to all,
In a full, perpetual tide,
Opened when our Savior died.

Come in poverty and meanness,
Come defiled, without, within;
From infection and uncleanness,
From the leprosy of sin,
Wash your robes and make them white;
Ye shall walk with God in light.

Come in sorrow and contrition,
Wounded, impotent, and blind;
Here the guilty free remission,
Here the troubled peace may find.
Health this fountain will restore;
He that drinks shall thirst no more.

He that drinks shall live forever;
’Tis a soul renewing flood.
God is faithful; God will never
Break His covenant of blood,
Signed when our Redeemer died,
Sealed when He was glorified.

2:40 p.m. - 2023-04-07

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Noworry4tzl
patheticness
nikkifoofoo
catsoul
whystinger
mal-adjusted
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
lobo21
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
realthoughts
journey2one
freakyouout
fragilegirl8
msjessica
fan4
trapeze-act