glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

the glory of a good conscience

It is 10:47 AM Sunday morning here where we live out our last remaining days. Make hay while the sun shines.

I got up this morning around 6:30 AM. I got up made a pot of coffee and then messed with our main computer. After messing with our main computer I wrote in my paper diary and then read from a book titled, 'The Life of Jesus Christ' Part Two Volume 1, Chapters 1-57 by Ludolph of Saxony. I started falling asleep around 8:30 AM so I stopped reading wandered into our living room and sat in my living room chair and dozed till 10:15 AM woke up got a cup of coffee and wrote some more in my paper diary. Now I am writing in my four online diaries about my last days on earth.

I suppose this afternoon I will watch some professional football and read some more of the book, 'High White Notes: The Rise and Fall of Gonzo Journalism' by David S. Wills-on the back of this book is a described of this book "High White Notes is the first in-depth analysis of the complete writings of Hunter S. Thompson, one of the most misunderstood authors of the 20th century. His Gonzo journalism was an odd fusion of fact and fiction that gathered widespread adoration but perhaps for all the wrong reasons.

In this book, David S. Wills traces the outlaw journalist's life from birth to death, exploring how Thompson developed his unique literary voice and why he used such odd techniques to craft a form of prose that defied categorization. This book not only explores Thompson's meteoric rise to literary superstardom, but also charts the rapid decline in the quality of his work that came after his 1972 foray into political reporting. As Thompson became hopelessly dependent upon drugs, his attitude toward work changed and his output declined markedly in terms of both quantity and quality."

I have been interested in the American writer Hunter S. Thompson since I was a teenager back in the late 1960's.

So this day goes by. Carol called me out West last night around 9:25 PM. She sounded beat down and ready to come home. I read 'High White Notes' while watching college football and went to bed around 10:15 PM. Now it is the last week in the month of November. Next week we will be in the last month of 2021 December 2021. Carol and I do not celebrate Thanksgiving or Christmas, which is a blessing.

I will close to ponder. Did I mention that I covered for someone at our local library used bookstore The Book Nook from 3 PM till 5 PM. No one came into the store so I read some more of the novel, Motherless Brooklyn' by Jonathan Lethem. I bought one used book at the Book Nook for my library titled, 'As She Climbed Across The Table' A Novel by Jonathan Lethem. I found a ton of used books at the Book Nook yesterday that I plan to buy once the lady in charge of the store how much she wants to charge for me. Lately I have come across a ton of excellent used books to add to my library. The Lord has blessed us richly in books.

"[7] For a bishop must be blameless, as the steward of God; not selfwilled, not soon angry, not given to wine, no striker, not given to filthy lucre;
[8] But a lover of hospitality, a lover of good men, sober, just, holy, temperate;
[9] Holding fast the faithful word as he hath been taught, that he may be able by sound doctrine both to exhort and to convince the gainsayers.
[10] For there are many unruly and vain talkers and deceivers, specially they of the circumcision:
[11] Whose mouths must be stopped, who subvert whole houses, teaching things which they ought not, for filthy lucre's sake.
[12] One of themselves, even a prophet of their own, said, The Cretians are alway liars, evil beasts, slow bellies.
[13] This witness is true. Wherefore rebuke them sharply, that they may be sound in the faith;
[14] Not giving heed to Jewish fables, and commandments of men, that turn from the truth.
[15] Unto the pure all things are pure: but unto them that are defiled and unbelieving is nothing pure; but even their mind and conscience is defiled.
[16] They profess that they know God; but in works they deny him, being abominable, and disobedient, and unto every good work reprobate." Titus 1:7-16

11:15 a.m. - 2021-11-21

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Noworry4tzl
patheticness
nikkifoofoo
catsoul
whystinger
mal-adjusted
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
lobo21
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
realthoughts
journey2one
freakyouout
fragilegirl8
msjessica
fan4
trapeze-act