glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

growing in grace

It is 1:50 PM Saturday afternoon. It is another hot day. The wells are going dry.

This afternoon Andy, Beth, Lou, Marn, and Jack left for a cabin up in Northern Michigan. I told the girls to watch out for bears.

Carol is taking a nap and I have been praying to the Lord God. I have been up on the top of the mount of transfiguration.

I got up this morning around 7:45 AM. When I came up stairs Carol was cooking frozen sausages in a frying pan. I took over the cooking duties for the troops. I fried a dozen eggs and made toast for an army. I had a bowl of cereal for breakfast and a cup of coffee. Carol told me this afternoon she has lost four pounds.

This morning I wrote in my paper diary and read when possible from a book titled, 'The Shadow in the Garden: A Biographer's Tale' memoir by James Atlas. Since the troops pulled out Carol and I have been getting our lives back in order. I told Carol it will take some time to discover who I am. I have lost contact with my inner self. I think my inner self is lost in a fog of exhaustion.

Last night we watched another old episode of 'Colombo' on Amazon Prime. Carol and I went down into the lower level around 10:10 PM. Carol went to sleep and I read deep into the night from these books, ''The Shadow in the Garden: A Biographer's Tale' memoir by James Atlas, 'Boswell's Presumptuous Task: The Making of the Life of Dr. Johnson' biography by Adam Sisman, and 'The Club: Johnson, Boswell, and the Friends Who Shaped an Age' biography by Leon Damrosch.

I was able to read this morning for devotions my Reformation Commentary on The Book of Joshua. I still have these Christian books in my main desk to read as an act of divine worship-

'Growing In Grace' Edited By Joel R. Beeke

'The Mind of the Spirit: Paul's Approach to Transformed Thinking' By Craig S. Keener

'Biblical Theology According to the Apostles: How the earliest Christians told the story of Israel' By Chris Bruno, Jared Compton, and Kevin McFadden

'Unity And Continuity In Covenantal Thought: A Study in the Reformed Tradition to the Westminster Assembly' By Andrew A. Woolsey

'Reformed Ethics: Created, Fallen, And Converted Humanity' Volume One By Herman Bavinck

'The Wonderful Works Of God' By Herman Bavinck

'Joshua, Judges, Ruth' Old Testament IV Reformation Commentary On Scripture Edited By N. Scott Amos

'The Story Retold: A Biblical-Theological Introduction To The New Testament' By G. K. Beale & Benjamin L. Gladd

The above books are the books I read for worship in the mornings. Well I will close to enjoy holy silence.

2:22 p.m. - 2020-07-04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

patheticness
nikkifoofoo
catsoul
oct0ber
whystinger
browndamask
mal-adjusted
koorikaze
lobo21
weatethesea
tobehis
raven72d
jondavid2010
journey2one
newschick
freakyouout
realthoughts
fragilegirl8
msjessica
fan4
trapeze-act