glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

a secret history of the workspace

It is 3:39 PM Monday afternoon here in West Michigan. It is a damp gray day. It rained off and on today. It is ugly late Summer weather. Summer is going out with a death gasp.

I have had a normal day thus far. As I usual I am tired and find it difficult to stay awake. I able to fall asleep just by sitting still for a few minutes. I have to keep moving so as not to fall asleep.

I got up this morning around 7:30 AM. I got up to find my wife reading the Bible in our living room. I got a bottle of cold water and sat in the dining room seeking to wake up. After waking up I made myself a bowl of oatmeal for breakfast. Carol did not want any oatmeal for breakfast, she said she would eat a bagel. I ate my oatmeal messing with our main computer. After messing with our main computer I wrote in my paper diary. Once again this morning I was not in the mood to read any Christian literature. Last night I finished reading, 'Under The Bright Lights' a crime novel by Daniel Woodrell. This crime novel is the first novel in Woodrell's 'The Bayou Trilogy'. I started the second novel in 'The Bayou Trilogy' titled, 'Muscle For The Wing'.

This morning I once again volunteered at the local library used books store The Book Nook from 10 o'clock AM till 1 o'clock PM. The Book Nook was slow so in order to keep myself from falling asleep I wandered the store and read, 'Another Roadside Attraction' a novel by Tom Robbins. I also read while at the Book Nook a book I bought there titled, 'Between You & Me: Confessions of a Comma Queen' memoir by Mary Norris. I brought home these used books from the Book Nook to add to our library-

'Cubed: A Secret History of the Workspace' by Nikil Saval

'Haunted' A Novel by Chuck Palahniuk

When I got home from the Book Nook no one was here, Carol had left to do errands. I ate lunch and wrote in my paper diary. So has gone by the Death Flow. I will close to pass out. There is nothing.

While Carol was out today doing errands she visit a thrift store to look at their used books. She brought some used books, so I did not want and some I kept. The ones I did not want I will take to the Book Nook. These are the ones I kept-

'Life Class' A Novel by Pat Baker (I already had this novel, but this edition is a hardback in good condition)

'Madame Bovary' A Novel by Gustave Flaubert (I have several editions of this wonderful novel, but this edition was published The New York Library A Collector's Edition hardback)

'Lillian Hellman: The Image, The Woman' biography by William Wright

Well I will close to drift. Tomorrow is a Tuesday. All we can do is stand up and cheer for the losers.

4:05 p.m. - 2019-08-26

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

patheticness
nikkifoofoo
catsoul
oct0ber
whystinger
browndamask
mal-adjusted
koorikaze
lobo21
weatethesea
tobehis
raven72d
jondavid2010
journey2one
newschick
freakyouout
realthoughts
fragilegirl8
msjessica
fan4
trapeze-act