glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Blueberry Festival Used Books Sale

It is 7:08 PM Friday night here in west Michigan. It has been a super long day for me! I am at the end of my rope. I am extremely tired and do not have the presence of mind to write down my existence right now. All I am going to attempt to do is list the used books we bought today at a used books sale in South Haven. I am writing on my lap top so I might fail in my attempt to list all the used books bought today to go into our book collection, but here it goes-
1. 'Talking It Over' a novel by Julian Barnes
2. 'The Diary Of H.L. Mencken' Edited By Charles A. Fecher
3. 'The Hawk And The Dove: Paul Nitze, George Kennan, And The History Of The Cold War' by Nicholas Thompson
4. 'Cocteau' biography by Francis Steegmuller
5. 'Divided Loyalties: How The American Revolution Came To New York' by Richard M. Fetchum
6. 'Anna Akhmatova: Poet and Prophet' biography by Roberta Reeder
7. 'Preserving The World's Great Cities: The Destruction And Renewal Of The Historic Metropolis' by Anthony M. Tung
8. 'Miss Marjoribanks' a novel by Margaret Oliphant
9. 'Stamped From The Beginning: The Definitive History Of Racist Ideas in America' by Ibram X. Kendi
10. 'An Old-Fashioned Darling' crime fiction by Charles Simmons
11. 'The Romantic Manifesto' by Ayn Rand
12. 'Mildred Pierce' crime fiction by James M. Cain
13. 'The Notebook, The Proof, The Third Lie' novels by Agota Kristof Translated by Alan Sheridan
14. 'The Silent History' by Eli Horwitz, Matthew Derby, Kevin Moffett
15. 'The Social Conquest Of Earth' by Edward O. Wilson
16. 'Big Sur And The Oranges Of Heronymus Bosch' by Henry Miller
17. 'Another Roadside Attraction' a novel by Tom Robbins
18. 'Faulkner: A Biography' by Joseph Blotner
19. 'John Quincy Adams: American Visionary' biography by Fred Kaplan
20. 'San Miguel' a novel by T. C. Boyle
21. 'Revenge of the Lawn: Stories 1962-1970' by Richard Brautigan
22. 'The Bad Girl' a novel by Mario Vargas Llosa Translated from the Spanish by Edith Grossman
23. 'The Progress Of Love' Stories by Alice Munro
24. 'Where 3 Roads Meet' Novellas by John Barth
25. 'A Part Of Speech' poetry by Joseph Brodsky
26. 'The Thurber Letters: The Wit, Wisdom, And Surprising Life Of James Thurber' Harrison Kinney, Editor With Rosemary A. Thurber
27. 'Tin House' Summer Fiction #20 literary journal
28. 'McSweeney's #12 literary journal

We left for the used books sale around 8 o'clock AM. I got into the sale around 9 o'clock AM. We were headed back to Holland by 10:10 AM. When we got home I found this book on our porch that I had ordered from Amazon 'Christobiography: Memory, History, and the Reliability of the Gospels' by Craig S. Keener.

I left the house around 12:45 PM to volunteer at the Book Nook from 1 o'clock PM till 5 o'clock PM. Usually I volunteer at the Book Nook from 10 o'clock AM till 1 o'clock PM but today Stacy covered my shift and then I covered her shift from 1 o'clock PM till 5 o'clock PM. I brought home from the Book Nook these used books to ADD to our small town book collection-
'A Marginal Jew: Companions And Competitors' Volume 3 in the series Rethinking The Historical Jesus by John P. Meier
'Garrets and Pretenders: A History of Bohemianism in America' by Albert Parry
'Churchill & Orwell: The Fight For Freedom' by Thomas E. Ricks

When I got home from the Book Nook around 5:10 PM in the mail I had received a book I had ordered on sale titled, 'The Resurrection Of The Son Of God' by N. T. Wright.

This evening Carol is babysitting Cora and Josie. I am babysitting their dog Ollie till Caleb and Emily get home from their evening out for dinner and a movie.

Well I will close to have a cup of coffee. Tomorrow is a Saturday in the death flow.

7:54 p.m. - 2019-08-09

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

patheticness
nikkifoofoo
catsoul
oct0ber
whystinger
browndamask
mal-adjusted
koorikaze
lobo21
weatethesea
tobehis
raven72d
jondavid2010
journey2one
newschick
freakyouout
realthoughts
fragilegirl8
msjessica
fan4
trapeze-act