glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Harlem Renaissance

It is 9:46 AM Tuesday morning here in southwest Michigan. Existence keeps speeding by! Outside this morning it is wet, gray, and barren was a desert. Where does one find living water around this ghetto?

I got up this morning around 4 o'clock AM to pray with Carol as she was about to leave for the Grand Rapids Airport to fly out West to visit our daughter and her family for a week. After Carol left I ate some cereal and made a cup of tea. I decided instead drinking such a strong cup of Earl Gray tea so early in the morning that I would go sit in the living room and doze. I dozed for awhile and then decided to just go back to bed and sleep. So I went back to bed and slept till 8:30 AM. When I woke up I immediately got dressed and went and voted. After I voted I came home and made a pot of coffee and ate waffles for breakfast. Now I am writing some words in my online diaries as the wind howls through the Wasteland. The smell of decay is in the air.

Last night is a blur. Carol and I went to bed early. I got up around 9:10 PM and wandered the house and messed with our main computer. I went to bed around 10 o'clock PM. Carol got up around 3 o'clock AM to get herself prepared to leave.

Now it is 9:52 AM and I am alone till next Tuesday.

Yesterday I volunteered at the local library used books store and brought home these used books to ADD to our library-

'The Magic Of Shirley Jackson' A generous selection of her work, consisting of three complete books-and eleven short stories including the world famous The Lottery

'Ulysses And Us: The Art of Everyone Life's Masterpiece' by Declan Kiberd (when I got home I found out I already had this book in our James Joyce Collection-so I will take it back to the Book Nook this coming Friday when I volunteer again)

'Harlem Speaks' A Living History Of The Harlem Renaissance' Edited By Cary D. Wintz

'Imaginary Homelands: Essays And Criticism 1981-1991' by Salman Rushdie

'Selected Letters Of Robert Louis Stevenson' Edited by Ernest Mehew

'Critical Essays on James Joyce: A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man' Edited by Philip Brady & James F. Carens

'Step Across This Line: Collected Nonfiction 1992-2002' by Salman Rushdie

'James Joyce's Ulysses' Edited and with introduction by Harold Bloom [Modern Critical Interpretation]

'James Joyce' Edited and with and introduction by Harold Bloom [Modern Critical Views]

In the mail yesterday I received a new biography on the German writer Herman Hesse titled 'Hesse The Wanderer and His Shadow' by Gunnar Decker Translated By Peter Lewis.

Yesterday I mainly read from one of the used books I bought from the Book Nook that day,'The Magic Of Shirley Jackson' A generous selection of her work, consisting of three complete books-and eleven short stories including the world famous The Lottery.

Well I suppose I will close to write some more in my paper diary and I might leave the house to wander.

10:12 a.m. - 2018-11-06

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

patheticness
nikkifoofoo
catsoul
oct0ber
whystinger
browndamask
mal-adjusted
koorikaze
lobo21
weatethesea
tobehis
raven72d
jondavid2010
journey2one
newschick
freakyouout
realthoughts
fragilegirl8
msjessica
fan4
trapeze-act