glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Sinner's Portion, and Saint's Hope

473 L.M. Isaac Watts
The Sinner’s Portion, and Saint’s hope. Ps. 17. 9-15

1 Lord, I am thine, but thou wilt prove
My faith, my patience, and my love;
When men of spite against me join,
They are the sword, the hand is thine.

2 Their hope and portion lie below;
’Tis all the happiness they know;
’Tis all they seek; they take their shares
And leave the rest among their heirs.

3 What sinners value I resign;
Lord, ’tis enough that thou art mine.
I shall behold thy blissful face,
And stand complete in righteousness.

4 This life’s a dream, an empty show,
But the bright world to which I go,
Has joys substantial and sincere;
When shall I wake and find me there?

5 O glorious hour! O blest abode!
I shall be near, and like my God!
And flesh and sin no more control
The sacred pleasures of my soul.

6 My flesh shall slumber in the ground,
Till the last trumpet’s joyful sound;
Then burst the chains with sweet surprise,
And in my Saviour’s image rise.

"[9] From the wicked that oppress me, from my deadly enemies, who compass me about.
[10] They are inclosed in their own fat: with their mouth they speak proudly.
[11] They have now compassed us in our steps: they have set their eyes bowing down to the earth;
[12] Like as a lion that is greedy of his prey, and as it were a young lion lurking in secret places.
[13] Arise, O LORD, disappoint him, cast him down: deliver my soul from the wicked, which is thy sword:
[14] From men which are thy hand, O LORD, from men of the world, which have their portion in this life, and whose belly thou fillest with thy hid treasure: they are full of children, and leave the rest of their substance to their babes.
[15] As for me, I will behold thy face in righteousness: I shall be satisfied, when I awake, with thy likeness." Psalm 17:9-15

2:17 p.m. - 2017-05-02

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

nikkifoofoo
catsoul
whystinger
oct0ber
patheticness
browndamask
koorikaze
mal-adjusted
lobo21
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
journey2one
realthoughts
freakyouout
fan4
msjessica
trapeze-act
fragilegirl8