glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

death to the world

It is now in the flow of my life here West Michigan 5:08 PM Wednesday night. I have not received a phone call yet telling me Jack has been born-come out the womb. Earlier Carol called to check in on me. The girls were taking a nap so she had time to give me a quick buzz on the phone. Andy and Beth had gone to the hospital this morning to wait for baby Jack to come forth into the world.

I have had a quiet day of doing nothing. In the mail I received from the ministry called Death to the World my Schemamonk Hoodie-XLarge-I should have gotten a XX-Large but they are SOLD OUT. So I will have to stop eating and in time I will be skinny as a desert Egyptian hermit monk living in a cave reading The Holy Scriptures/then be able to wear this hoodie that cost me $50.49. This verse comes to my mind, "Still others had trial of mockings and scourgings, yes, and of chains and imprisonment. They were stoned, they were sawn in two, were tempted, were slain with the sword. They wandered about in sheepskins and goatskins, being destitute, afflicted, tormented-of whom the world was not worthy. They wandered in deserts and mountains, in dens and caves of the earth" Hebrews 11:36-38.

I took a ton of books down into the lower level library today but kept these to look at as I sit in my desert cave-

"Aubrey's Brief Lives" Edited By Oliver Lawson Dick [The Penguin English Library]

"John Aubrey, My Own Life" biography by Ruth Scurr

"John Saturnall's Feast" a novel by Lawrence Norfolk

"American Philosophy: A Love Story" memoir by John Kaag

"Shakespeare & Company: A History of the Rag & Bone Shop of the Heart" Edited by Krista Halverson

"Bop Apocalypse: Jazz, Race, The Beats, & Drugs" by Martin Torgoff

"The Invention of Science: A New History of the Scientific Revolution" by David Wootton

"Deep South: Four Seasons On Back Roads" travel memoir by Paul Theroux

"A Really Good Day: How Microdosing Made a Mega Difference in My Mood, My Marriage, and My Life" memoir by Ayelet Waldman

"Life At The Bottom: The Worldview That Makes The Underclass" essays by Theodore Dalrymple

These are the books I will attempt to read in the present moment.

It is getting dark outside right now. I suppose I will close to sit and wait for tomorrow to come.

5:44 p.m. - 2017-02-15

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

nikkifoofoo
catsoul
whystinger
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
mal-adjusted
lobo21
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
journey2one
realthoughts
freakyouout
trapeze-act
msjessica
fragilegirl8
fan4