glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

the Holy Spirit alone reveals the substance of Scripture

It is 10:04 AM Sunday morning here in West Michigan. It is a cold clear sky sunny morning. A good day for an Autumn color tour. Right now I feel once again sick to my stomach. I think what is upsetting my stomach is apple cider mixed with coffee.

My wife and I got up around 7:15 AM this morning. I had once again spiritual dreams all night. When we got up I got the Sunday newspapers off our driveway, made a pot of coffee and oatmeal for breakfast. I ate my oatmeal messing with our main computer. After messing with our main computer I wrote in my paper diary and read "Psalms 1-72" Old Testament VII Reformation Commentary On Scripture. Carol left the house to walk Rudy downtown and to get more Sunday newspapers at a downtown bookstore.

Carol went to church this morning. So existence keeps speeding by.

I had no plans for the day. I might watch professional football games today.

Last night Carol got home around 7:30 PM from Grand Rapids. When she got home I was sitting in our dining room reading "Penelope Fitzgerald: A Life" by Hermione Lee. We watched some college football last night. Carol went to bed early. When Carol went to bed I turned off the TV and read my books till I got sleepy. Now it is another day to figure it all out before the Last Day comes and time is no more.

There is nothing pressing on my mind this morning. I do wonder if a Christian should model is spirituality after the Book of Psalms. I feel more comfortable modeling my Christian spirituality after the Apostle Paul and not the Old Testament King David who penned some of the Old Testament Psalms. For years we as a family attended churches that sang the Old Testament Psalms paraphrased for contemporary singing/worship services. I do not know today if I would attended a church where only the Old Testament Psalms are sung. I discovered when we were attending churches where only the OT Psalms were sung that I had to spiritualize continually the Psalms in order for me to get anything out of them that held meaning for me. I relate more to the Christian Spirituality set forth in the New Testament Pauline epistles. I remember these words of the Apostle Paul in First Corinthians, "But the manifestation of the Spirit is given to each one for the profit of all: for one is given the word of wisdom through the Spirit, to another the word of knowledge through the same Spirit, to another faith by the same Spirit, to another gifts of healings by the same Spirit, to another the working of miracles, to another prophecy, to another discerning of spirits, to another different kinds of tongues, to another the interpretation of tongues. But one and the same Spirit works all these things, distributing to each one individually as He wills" 1 Corinth. 12:7-11.

Well I suppose I will close to wait it out. There is no way of escape/trapped.

music: Leviathan 'Scar Sighted'

10:29 a.m. - 2015-10-25

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

nikkifoofoo
catsoul
whystinger
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
mal-adjusted
lobo21
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
journey2one
realthoughts
freakyouout
trapeze-act
msjessica
fragilegirl8
fan4