glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

the quest for the historical Adam

It is in the life flow here in West Michigan 8:46 AM Saturday morning. It rained all night so everything is wet this morning. I am still trying to come to grips with this day. I sometimes wake up feeling extremely anxious and depressed, but as the day crawls by I start to feel better. Lately I keep having this feeling like something horrible is going to happen, that everything is going to spin out of control. I have to keep exercising faith that the Lord is in control and that our lives are in His hands.

I got up this morning around 7:30 AM. My wife was already up preparing food and baking an apple pie. We are planning to drive over to Grand Rapids this afternoon to visit with our oldest son Caleb and his family. We are taking food over so as to have dinner with them. Carol enjoys cooking and baking when she is not tired from work.

I really have nothing to write this morning. I am still waking up. This morning I once again volunteer at the Herrick District Public Library Used Books Store from 10 AM till 1 PM. I will leave the house for the library around 9:45 AM this morning. The library is only five minutes from where we live.

Last night UPS delivered a book I had pre-ordered last year titled, "Psalm 1-72" Old Testament VII Reformation Commentary On Scripture" Edited by Herman J. Selderhuis. I have these two books by Herman J. Selderhuis in our library-

"Calvin's Theology of the Psalms" by Herman J. Selderhuis

"The Calvin Handbook" Edited by Herman J. Selderhuis

I am a student of the French Reformer John Calvin. Calvin was a very interesting individual/Christian.

Last night we watched a TV show I had taped for Carol. Carol went to bed early and I stayed up and wandered the house and read my books. I read from these books last night before going to bed-

"Knowing The Love Of God: Lessons From A Spiritual Master" by Fr. Reginald Garrigou-Lagrange, O.P.

"Moral Reflections on the Book of Job" Volume 1 Preface and Books 1-5 by Gregory the Great Translated by Brian Kerns OCSO

I also read yesterday from these books-

"The Lost World of Adam and Eve: Genesis 2-3 and the Human Origins Debate" by John H. Walton

"The Book of Genesis" [The Bible in Medieval Tradition] Joy A. Schroeder translator and editor

"The Quest For The Historical Adam: Genesis, Hermeneutics, and Human Origins" by William VanDoodewaard

I will close to get ready to face what comes next. No way of escape/trapped.

music: Joanna Newsom 'Divers

9:10 a.m. - 2015-10-24

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

nikkifoofoo
catsoul
whystinger
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
mal-adjusted
lobo21
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
journey2one
realthoughts
freakyouout
trapeze-act
msjessica
fragilegirl8
fan4