glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

the gates of the Alamo

It is 6:45 PM Monday night in the flow. I am down in the lower level writing on a lap top computer. I came down here to watch the new Pulp movie featured on Pitchfork Media site/YouTube. My wife is upstairs watching television. I am too tired to sit and watch reruns on TV. I have been up since 5:50 AM this morning. I am also not feeling well lately and need to go to bed early tonight. We are in the midst of a snow storm here by Lake Michigan.

We went grocery shopping late this morning. We have food to hold us over till it is possible once again to drive to a grocery store. Carol told me today it is suppose to be sunny this coming Friday. Maybe Friday we can walk someplace that is peaceful/Mother Nature.

I spent the day sitting, wandering the house and reading a little of the novel "Shark" by Will Self.

I did leave the house this afternoon to visit a local thrift store to look at their used books. While at this thrift store looking at the used books I noticed an older fellow looking at a used book titled, "The Path Of True Godliness" by Willem Teellinck (1579-1629) [Classics Of Reformed Spirituality Series]. I told the fellow the book was a gem and he should buy it. The fellow and I started talking about Dutch Puritan Spirituality and we went to talk for an hour and a half about our Christian lives. The fellow's name was Doug and he was in his late 50's/not married/lives alone with two cats. Doug and I had good spiritual fellowship and I gave him my phone number I told him to call me and we would get together for coffee and Christian fellowship. I had to get home because I had Carol's car and she had planned to visit a friend this afternoon. I hope Doug calls because I really enjoyed talking to him. Doug and I were both being REAL which is a blessing when you are a Christian. As Christians we need to love one another/accept one another. Doug said many things that I also have said over the years/for example it is rare to meet these days a real Christian/a Christian who is in love with the Lord Jesus and holy Scripture/Truth/the Gospel of Christ. Doug told me during the course of conversation in the thrift store that he had been praying to the Lord to meet a real Christian/a true spiritual brother in Christ. Christians need to become friends with other followers of Christ in this lonely spiritual Wasteland. I have a godly Christian wife to keep me company in this fallen ungodly world.

I bought the book "The Path Of True Godliness" by Teellinck for Doug and bought for myself these two used books, "The Unconsoled" a novel by Kazuo Ishiguro (I have read this novel and collect the writings of Ishiguro.) and "The Gates Of The Alamo" a novel by Stephen Harrigan.

So the day has gone by. I do not know why I feel sick these days. Weird. Well I will close to wait it out.

7:49 p.m. - 2014-11-17

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

catsoul
nikkifoofoo
whystinger
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
mal-adjusted
lobo21
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
journey2one
realthoughts
freakyouout
trapeze-act
msjessica
fragilegirl8
fan4