glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

the pilgrim's progress

It is 9:14 AM Tuesday morning in the snow flow. It is 20 degrees and snowing this morning here in West Michigan. I am down in the lower level writing on a lap top computer. The morning has gone by thus far normal.

I got up this morning around 6:15 AM. Carol was already up sitting in our living room reading her Bible. It is a blessing having a wife who reads the Good Book/Bible/God's Word. So many people in the world have no love for the Word of God. Carol had made coffee when she got up so I got a cup of coffee and messed with our main computer.

Next I made a pot of oatmeal for breakfast for us to eat. Why make oatmeal for no one to eat. Common sense would tell you that I made oatmeal to be eaten and not just for fun. It seems when I am writing here in LiveJournal I am always having to explain my actions. Why did I make oatmeal this morning? I made oatmeal because I was hungry.

After breakfast I wrote in my paper diary and fed the birds. I cleaned the kitchen and then I came down here to look at Volume One of THE WORKS OF JOHN BUNYAN to look at a treatise by Bunyan mentioned by the Christian fellow I ran into at Bibles For Mexico thrifts store. The treatise mentioned by brother Doug is titled, "Grace Abounding To The Chief Of Sinners or, A Brief Relation Of The Exceeding Mercy Of God In Christ, To His Poor Servant, John Bunyan." John Bunyan is famous for his treatise "Pilgrim's Progress". We have in our library "The Works of John Bunyan" Three Volumes that I bought many years ago when I was in Bible College. One of the first books I read when I became a Calvinist was Bunyan's treatise, "The Holy War, Made By Shaddai Upon Diabolus, For The Regaining Of The Metropolis Of The World; or The Losing And Taking Again Of The Town Of Mansoul" located in Volume 3 "The Works of John Bunyan".

When we were raising our three children I read to them every year "The Pilgrim's Progress" by John Bunyan. I even taught an Adult Sunday School class on Bunyan's treatise "The Pilgrim's Progress" many years ago. A couple of years ago I found at Bibles For Mexico a two volume work titled, "Bunyan's Pilgrim's Progress. An Exposition Of The Christian Life" By The Rev. James Black, D.D. Wellington Street Church, Glasgow. I also have on Bunyan's Pilgrim's Progress a work titled, "The Pilgrim's Progress" With Explanatory Notes By William Mason.

Here is a list of books I have in my John Bunyan Collection-

"The Holy War" By John Bunyan With Explanation Notes By William Mason

"A Holy Life" by John Bunyan

"The Pilgrim's Progress" by John Bunyan a old paperback published by Baker Book House

"The Pilgrim's Progress" by John Bunyan a hardback edition published by The Banner of Truth Trust 1979

"The Pilgrim's Progress" by John Bunyan cassette tapes "Amplified Version-The Ultimate Odyssey-from Despair to Triumph Vividly Portrayed in a New, Updated Dramatization

"Bunyan's Character's" by Alexander Whyte

"John Bunyan: Pilgrim And Dreamer" biography by Ernest W. Bacon

"Grace Abounding to the Chief of Sinners" by John Bunyan

"A Tinker And A Poor Man: John Bunyan and his Church 1628-1688" by Christopher Hill

"John Bunyan" by Richard L. Greaves a theological study on Bunyan's theology

There could be more books on Bunyan or by Bunyan in our library, but can't find them right now.

Well I will close to regroup. I lost my train of thought. I am tired. I went to bed early last night. I had a weird religious dream last night.

10:26 a.m. - 2014-11-18

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

catsoul
nikkifoofoo
whystinger
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
mal-adjusted
lobo21
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
journey2one
realthoughts
freakyouout
trapeze-act
msjessica
fragilegirl8
fan4