glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

to Africa!

It is 6:13 PM Friday evening. Carol left a few minutes ago to get together with people she knew in High School. My wife grew up in Holland Michigan. Carol comes from a traditional family. Carol's Dad worked in a factory till he retired and her mother was a home maker (Carol's parents are no longer living). Carol grew up in the Christian Reformed Church here in Holland. My wife has always been a Christian. I was my wife's first boyfriend. Carol and I got married six months after we met. We have been married 35 years this year.

I had a super quiet day. I spent the afternoon either sitting in our dining room looking into the Void or reading a book titled, "Time Of Need: Forms Of Imagination In The Twentieth Century" by William Barrett.

Carol slept during the afternoon hours. The day went by peacefully, which I am very thankful for. Everything comes from the hands of the Lord.

A LiveJournal friend of mine has been listing books and writers that have had impact on his life. I have been reviewing in my mind today all the books and writers I have come across as a bookworm. I always tell people when it comes to books to read the Bible. As a Christian I have a hard time lifting any book or writer above the Bible or the Lord Jesus Christ. I have to say with honestly that the Bible and the Lord Jesus has had the greatest impact on me as person/intellectual development. Those who read my diary regularly know I always mentioned St. John of the Cross and Jack Kerouac when it comes to spirituality and writing. I always warn people to read St. John of the Cross through the lens of an Evangelical Christian/the Bible. I do not agree with Jack Kerouac's pagan ethics. When it comes to Kerouac and the Beats I am more influenced/interested by their writing style and not their immoral life styles. We read in the Letter to the Ephesians/New Testament, "Therefore be imitators of God as dear children. And walk in love, as Christ also has loved us and given Himself for us, an offering and a sacrifice to God for a sweet-smelling aroma. But fornication and all uncleanness or covetousness, let it not even be named among you, as it is fitting for saints; neither filthiness, nor foolish talking, nor coarse jesting, which are not fitting, but rather giving of thanks. For this you know, that no fornicator, unclean person, nor covetous man, who is idolater, has any inheritance in the kingdom of Christ and God. Let no one deceive you with empty words, for because of these things the wrath of God comes upon the sons of disobedience. Therefore do not be partakers with them" Ephesians 5:1-7.

Tomorrow I once again volunteer at the Herrick Public Library used books store from 10 AM till 1 PM. Time just keeps zooming by! It seems I just volunteered at the book nook, but another week of our lives as flown by. Weird.

Well I will close to drift till my wife comes home. There is no way out.

Here is a list of books I would take with me if our house was on fire.

1. Bible (New King James Version)
2. "The Collected Works of St. John of the Cross"
3. "Carthusian Spirituality: The Writings Of Hugh Of Balma And Guigo De Ponte" [The Classics Of Western Spirituality]
4. "The Cloud Of Unknowing" [The Classics Of Western Spirituality]
5. "The Dharma Bums" a novel by Jack Kerouac

music: Primal Scream "More Light"

6:55 p.m. - 2014-07-25

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

nikkifoofoo
catsoul
whystinger
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
mal-adjusted
lobo21
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
journey2one
realthoughts
freakyouout
fan4
msjessica
trapeze-act
fragilegirl8