glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Acts

It is 7:27 PM Thursday night. I had a normal day. I am a normal person. I live a normal middle-class Christian life in a middle-class neighborhood.

I have been down in the lower level reading on Acts and the Day of Pentecost a volume titled, "Beginning From Jerusalem" Volume 2 of the series "Christianity In The Making" by James D. G. Dunn. This morning I showed my wife books I would read while studying The Acts of the Apostles (New Testament). Here is a short list of books I showed my wife this morning on Acts.

"The Book Of The Acts" by F. F. Bruce [The New International Commentary On The New Testament]

"Acts and the Isaianic New Exodus" by David W. Pao

"Power from on High: The Spirit in Israel's Restoration and Witness in Luke-Acts" by Max Turner

"Commentary on the New Testament Use of the Old Testament" Editors G. K. Beale & D. A. Carson

"Dictionary for Theological Interpretation of the Bible" General Editor Kevin J. VanHoozer

We looked at these above books on Acts chapter 2 verse 1 "When the Day of Pentecost had fully come, they were all with one accord in one place."

I could spend days studying the Acts of the Apostle if I wanted to. The problem is that I can not find a solid reason. I rather read for devotions these days my new Reformation Commentary on Acts and not get deep into Acts. Today I looked at a new massive commentary on Acts by Craig Keener published by Baker Book House that I plan to look at when I am in Grand Rapids next week. From what I can gather only two volumes of this projected four massive commentary on Acts have been published thus far. I might buy next week volume One of this Acts commentary by Keener. I have already several books by Craig Keener in my library. I love studying the Bible even if I do not have anyone to share with my insights into God's Word. I am a Bible student.

Well I suppose I will close to wait for Carol to come home from the Woman's Bible Study.

Dr. Craig Keener on Pentecost


8:00 p.m. - 2014-03-13

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

catsoul
whystinger
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
lobo21
mal-adjusted
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
journey2one
realthoughts
freakyouout
trapeze-act
msjessica
fragilegirl8
fan4