glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

the upward call of God in Christ Jesus

The day goes by normal for me. My wife got home from her outing around 11:45 AM and went to bed. She has to be at work around 8 o'clock PM tonight. After tonight she is off four nights. Our lives are zooming by!

When my wife got home this morning I was sitting at our dining room table reading "The Good Soldier" a novel by Ford Madox Ford. My goal for the day is to finish this novel. I have these secular books on my main study desk to read before the end of this present evil age. ("who gave Himself for our sins, that He might deliver us from this present evil age, according to the will of our God and Father, to whom be glory forever and ever. Amen" Galatians 1:4,5)

"Wittgenstein's Mistress" a novel by David Markson

"The Patrick Melrose Novels" by Edward St. Aubyn

"Rebirth Of A Nation: The Making Of Modern America, 1877-1920" by Jackson Lears

"Umbrella" a novel by Will Self

"Wild: From Lost To Found On The Pacific Crest Trail" a memoir by Cheryl Strayed

"The Voice Is All: The Lonely Victory Of Jack Kerouac" a biography by Joyce Johnson

I tend to read slowly. I like to ponder what I read. I also like to read the Bible and my Christian books as much as my brain will allow me. The problem is that I have read too much and so I tend to get bored easily. I rarely now get excited about a new book or a new writer. I realize it is a blessing as a Christian to be in the cloud of unknowing. I remember these words of the apostle Paul, "For now we see in a mirror, dimly, but then face to face. Now I know in part, but then I shall know just as I also am known. And now abide faith, hope, love, these three; but the greatest of these is love" 1 Corinth 13:12,13.

Well I suppose I will close to read my novel and wait for the End.

"I press toward the goal for the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus" Phil. 3:14

music: Richard D. James Album: Aphex Twin

1:20 p.m. - 2013-02-18

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
mal-adjusted
weatethesea
lobo21
tobehis
raven72d
newschick
msjessica
jondavid2010
journey2one
freakyouout
realthoughts
trapeze-act
fragilegirl8
fan4