glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

a down-payment on eternal felicity

It is 10:19 PM Sunday morning here in West Michigan. It is 19 degrees and there is a thin layer of snow on the ground. My wife left for church this morning. I personally would not drive anywhere in this winter weather. My wife is a brave woman.

I got up this morning around 5:50 AM. I got out of bed because I was sick of dreaming. Sometimes you have these dreams that go nowhere and you just wish they would come to an end. Sometimes the only way to end a weird dream is to wake up and face the real world. So I got up and found my wife reading her devotional books. I got a cup of coffee and stood in the kitchen waking up. I next messed with our main computer and then made myself a bowl of oatmeal. Lately I have been making myself oatmeal for breakfast. I should eat fruit every day along with oats. I need to eat a rainbow diet.

After breakfast I wrote in my paper diary. Carol and I drove downtown to Reader's World Bookstore so she could get a Detroit Free Press. I went along to look at the books.

So existence keeps decaying. Last night I listened to music, watched some television and read my books. Lately I have been reading these books when not wandering.

"The Christian Warfare Against the Devil, World and Flesh" by John Downame (1571-1652)

"Carthusian Spirituality: The Writings Of Hugh Of Balma And Guigo De Ponte" [The Classics of Western Spirituality]

"Christianity: The First Three Thousand Years" by Diarmaid MacCulloch

"Jerusalem: The Biography" by Simon Sebag Montefiore

So the morning goes by. Today we watch professional football, the NFC Championship 49er's at Falcons And AFC Championship Ravens at Patriots. I want the Patriots to be in the Superbowl by I do not know if they can beat the Ravens. I do expect the 49er's to beat the Falcons. In the end I do not care. What is it important is being ready to meet Death with Christ dwelling in our hearts.

Well I do not know what else to report. Existence keeps decaying rapidly. I will close to read some more of the treatise "The Roads To Zion Mourn" by Hugh of Balma.

music: St. Deluxe "Born into Flame"

10:40 a.m. - 2013-01-20

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
mal-adjusted
weatethesea
lobo21
tobehis
raven72d
newschick
msjessica
jondavid2010
journey2one
freakyouout
realthoughts
trapeze-act
fragilegirl8
fan4