glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

\"Theoretico-Practica Theologia\"

It is still a Tuesday in the flow of existence. I do not know why I write so much rubbish? I must be off my rocker! But I write because it is a harmless form of insanity. I am not hurting anyone by writing these words down here in our basement on my lap top. I came down not sure what I would do. Yesterday around 4:50 PM I laid down and slept till 5:50 PM. Right now the wall clock tells me the time is 2:32 PM. I could lay down for an hour and dream of a new world to come.

I have been reading "Middlemarch" a novel by George Eliot. I once saw on PBS a series by the BBC on the novel "Middlemarch" but I am not sure if that is correct. My memory often fails me in my old age. Memory can play tricks on you.

Today in the mail I received a church magazine titled Tolle Lege "Pick up and Read" published by Reformation Heritage Books. The magazine is a book catalogue. The magazine tells about what books Reformation Heritage Books has for sale. The magazine also has news about book being published in the future. In this issue of Tolle Lege is an article stating that the Dutch Reformed Translation Society has started translating out of Latin Peter Van Mastricht�s �Theoretico-Practica Theologia� (literally �theoretical and practical theology�). This is a massive theological work and will be a major undertaking by the Dutch Reformed Translation Society. I wonder if I will be around when it is completed? Back in 2002 Soli Deo Gloria published a section from �Theoretic-Practica Theologia� titled �A Treatise On Regeneration� Peter Van Mastricht (1630-1706) Extracted from his system of divinity called Theologia Theoretico-Practica, and faithfully translated into English, with an appendix containing extracts from many celebrated divines of the Reformed church upon the same subject. Edited by Brandon Withrow.

Recently the Dutch Reformed Translation Society translated out of Dutch Herman Bavinck�s �Reformed Dogmatics� 4 Volumes Translated by John Vriend Edited by John Bolt. I have this set in my hermit cell to look at when I am in need of a shot of Dutch Reformed Dogmatics.

I recently bought these books---

�Guide to the Writings of Herman Bavinck� by Eric D. Bristley

�Saved By Grace: The Holy Spirit�s Work in Calling and Regeneration� by Herman Bavinck [Translated by Nelson D. Kloosterman Edited and Introduced by J. Mark Beach]

�Essays On Religion, Science, And Society� by Herman Bavinck [John Bolt, Editor/ Harry Boonstra And Gerrit Sheeres, Translators]

I have mentioned in the Past that many years ago I bought these two translations of the works of Herman Bavinck---

�The Doctrine of God� by Herman Bavinck [Translated By William Hendriksen] I bought this book in 1977 when I lived in Richmond Rescue Mission Richmond Calif. This book was also a text book in my doctrine of God class when I was a student at Reformed Bible College and at Reformed Theological Seminary. (now today I know only God can give me a true knowledge of Himself not Bavinck or Van Mastricht)

�Our Reasonable Faith: A Survey Of Christian Doctrine� by Herman Bavinck [Translated by Henry Zylstra] published also in 1977.

I thought of Bavinck�s volume �The Doctrine of God� when I read these verses in the Book of Exodus found in the Old Testament (quote Exodus 33:12-23). But I reminded myself I would not get into Reformed theology while reading my Bible. I have a ton of books on the Doctrine of God.
I love the Lord Jesus Christ the second Person of the Godhead.

I do not believe preaching 17th century Dutch Reformed Theology is going to save the world from destruction. Also how many Christians in the world could afford to buy the books mentioned in my blog? How many Christians in america read Herman Bavinck or even the Bible? How many Christians in the world can read the Bible? What does a sinner need to HEAR in order to be saved? "When I came to you, brothers, I did not come with eloquence or superior wisdom as I proclaimed to you the testimony about God. For I resolved to know nothing while I was with you except Jesus Christ and him crucified." 1 Corinth. 2:1,2

Well time keeps rolling along. The wall clock now tells me the time is 3:10 PM. I will close to rest.

�The great day of the LORD is near-near and coming quickly. Listen! The cry on the day of the LORD will be bitter, the shouting of the warrior there. That day will be a day of wrath, a day of distress and anguish, a day of trouble and ruin, a day of darkness and gloom, a day of clouds and blackness, a day of trumpet and battle cry against the fortified cities and against the corner towers. I will bring distress on the people and they will walk like blind men, because they have sinned against the LORD. Their blood will be poured out like dust and their entrails like filth. Neither their silver nor their gold will be able to save them on the day of the LORD�s wrath. In the fire of his jealousy the world will be consumed, for he will make a sudden end of all who live in the earth.� Zephaniah 1:14-18

3:51 p.m. - 2009-02-10

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

freakyouout
jonathan
fragilegirl8
broken-in-nc
msjessica
poolagirl
fan4
joy-in-god
trapeze-act
oldjake
jedidiah77
silverluna
talktogod
realthoughts