glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Until the day dawn, and the day-star arise in your hearts

Until the day dawn, and the day-star arise in your hearts

As I was sitting in front of my computer reading journals something came to my mind that I wanted to look at this evening-recently in my livejournal I quoted Second Peter 1:16-21-one of my livejournal friends quoted to me 2 Pet.1:19b "a light that shines in a dark place, until the day dawns and the morning star arises in your hearts" a work today a book came to my mind in my book collection-the book titled "A Commentary On The Second Epistle General of St. Peter" it is a massive exposition on Second Peter by a 17th cent English Puritan named Thomas Adams (Minister of St. George's, London A.D. 1633)-a while back Soli Deo Gloria reprinted this massive Puritan work and I have it now in front of me-I will quote a little from this book on 2 Pet.1:19b "Until the day dawn, and the day-star arise in your hearts." The kingdom of grace is both an entrance to and a resemblance of the kingdom of glory. This evangelical day on earth, is a glimpse of that angelical day in heaven. And Christ is our day-star here, in respect of his gracious light, as he will be hereafter, in respect of his glorious light. Christ hath been often called a star, and that without disparagement to him, that is the Sun himself. It was given him both by prophetical prediction, "There shall come a star out of Jacob," Number xxiv.17; and by evangelical ascription, "I am the root and offspring of David, and the bright and morning-star," Rev. xxii.16. Christ hath in the Scripture divers names of light given him, according to the different degrees of his emication. Sometimes he casteth forth a scanter beam, and then he is called the day-dawning. Sometimes he gives so much light, as only presignifies a bright day at hand; then he is called Lucifer, the morning-star. Other times he diffuseth his knowledge, then he is the light and the day: then he shines out in his glory, and is the sun himself. This is the star we sail by, over the sea of this world: other stars are under us in service, though they be above us in situation. The heavens, moon, and stars; "thou hast put all things under his feet," Psa. viii.6. If it be true that the stars govern men: this star commands all." Thomas Adams

7:26 p.m. - 2003-02-14

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

freakyouout
jonathan
fragilegirl8
broken-in-nc
msjessica
poolagirl
fan4
joy-in-god
trapeze-act
oldjake
jedidiah77
silverluna
talktogod
realthoughts