glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I want a real blessing

I want a real blessing

My day off from the egg hole goes by like clock work-time is now 3:42 PM late afternoon-this morning we did take a load of junk to Project Pride-we were home by Noon-I wandered the house and read some of the book "Spiritual Mentoring"-Josiah and I went to Barnes & Noble to look at magazines and CD's-Josiah got the recent issue of No Depression and the new Alejandro Escovedo CD "By The Hand Of The Father-Songs, Stories/Original Theaterwok"-I got these three CD's for my music collection "I Love Paris:Fashion Chill Out Lounge Collection", MeShell NdegeOcello "Cookie: The Anthropological Mixtape" and Mark Eitzel "The Invisible Man" did not see any books worth buying today-so we looked at music magazines and came home to find Carol making a fancy dessert-I have been resting and waiting for my last breathe-I keep remembering something I read last night in the book "Life Of The Beloved: Spiritual Living in a Secular World" by Henri J.M. Nouwen the quote is from the chapter 'Blessed' "Not long ago, in my own community, I had a very personal experience of the power of a real blessing. Shortly before I started a prayer service in one of our houses, Janet, a handicapped member of our community, said to me: "Henri, can you give me a blessing?" I responded in a somewhat automatic way by tracing with my thumb the sign of the cross on her forehead. Instead of being grateful, however, she protested vehemently, "No, that doesn't work. I want a real blessing!" I suddenly became aware of the ritualistic quality of my response to her request and said, "Oh, I am sorry,. . . let me give you a real blessing when we are all together for the prayer service." She nodded with a smile, and I realized that something was required of me. After the service, when about thirty people were sitting in a circle on the floor, I said, "Janet has asked me for a special blessing. She feels that she needs that now." As I was saying this, I didn't know what Janet really wanted. But Janet didn't leave in doubt for very long. As soon as I had said, "Janet has asked me for a special blessing," she stood up and walked toward me. I was wearing a long white robe with ample sleeves covering my hands as well as my arms. Spontaneously, Janet put her arms around me and put her head against my chest. Without thinking, I covered her with my sleeves so that she almost vanished in the folds of my robe. As we held each other, I said, "Janet, I want you to know that you are God's Beloved Daughter. You are precious in God's eyes. Your beautiful smile, your kindness to the people in your house and all the good things you do show us what a beautiful human being you are. I know you feel a little low these days and that there is some sadness in your heart, but I want you to remember who you are: a very special person, deeply loved by God and all the people who are here with you."

As I said these words, Janet raised her head and looked at me; and her broad smile showed that she had really heard and received the blessing. When she returned to her place, Jane, another handicapped woman, raised her hand and said, "I want a blessing too." She stood up and, before I knew it, had put her face against my chest. After I had spoken words of blessing to her, many more of the handicapped people followed, expressing the same desire to be blessed. The most touching moment, however, came when one of the assistants, a twenty-four-year-old student, raised his hand and said, "And what about me?" "Sure," I said. "Come." He came, and, as we stood before each other, I put my arms around him and said, "John, it is so good that you are here. You are God's Beloved Son, Your presence is a joy for all of us. When things are hard and life is burdensome, always remember that you are loved with an everlasting love." As I spoke these words, he looked at me with at me with tears in his eyes and then he said, "Thank you, thank you very much."

That evening I recognized the importance of blessing and being blessed and reclaimed it as a true sign of the Beloved. . ."pp.57-59

I will close to drift through existence-tomorrow will soon be here-there is no escape

4:46 p.m. - 2002-06-08

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

freakyouout
jonathan
fragilegirl8
broken-in-nc
msjessica
poolagirl
fan4
joy-in-god
trapeze-act
oldjake
jedidiah77
silverluna
talktogod
realthoughts