glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

WITH HIM IN GLORY

Strange

It is Tuesday early evening-I got home from work the usual time which is 4:20 p.m.-nothing came for me in the mail-I had a message from the CD store that my order had come in-I had ordered "Peter Murphy 1985-1995"-so after I had cleaned up and had eaten something I went downtown which is about ten minutes from where we live here in Holland Mich.-at the CD store I also picked up the new Built To Spill CD-I talked music to the clerks-came home to rest and write-so time goes by in my small town existence.

Work was work-time went by at work-it was hot in the egg processing plant today! It is a blessing to come home to air conditioning-nothing on my mind at work worth repeating here-the same old crap on my brain at work.

Last night I went to bed around 9 o'clock-it was still light outside when we went to bed-I looked at the book "Echoes Of Scripture In The Letters Of Paul" by Richard B. Hayes-too worn out these days to read or think-all I am is a work machine-no brain activity going on.

Tomorrow is a Wednesday-a Pay Day-the middle of the work week-Mack goes to get his hair cut-he will look like a new dog tomorrow night-I get my cut hair Friday-my beard is looking like a wild goat beard.

Joe is down in his living space-Beth is out with a girlfriend-my wife went to some meeting-I am sitting here talking to myself listening to the new Built To Spill CD drinking a coke and feeling sore and tired. I should read the book "Echoes Of Scripture In The Letters Of Paul" for evening devotions-I did have on my mind to go look at what Manton and Lloyd-Jones have to say on John 17:24 but I am too tired to go dig out their writings-I have Lloyd-Jones Sermons on John 17 in my library-I will go dig the volumes out-will be back in a moment---I am back-here is the list of the volumes

"Saved In Eternity-The Assurance Of Our Salvation [Studies In Jesus' Prayer For His Own-John 17:1-5" by Martyn Lloyd-Jones

"Safe In The World-The Assurance Of Our Salvation [Studies In Jesus' Prayer For His Own:John 17:6-19" by Lloyd-Jones

"Sanctified Through The Truth-The Assurance Of Our Salvation [Studies In Jesus' Prayer For His Own: John 17:17-19" by Lloyd-Jones

"Growing In The Spirit-The Assurance Of Our Salvation [Studies In Jesus' Prayer For His Own: John 17:17-24" by Martyn Lloyd-Jones.

I found these words of Lloyd-Jones in volume four of his series of sermons on John 17-he is commenting on JN 17:24 the sermon is titled WITH HIM IN THE GLORY-"And what shall we be doing there [heaven]? Well, this what he says, 'Father, I will that they also, whom thou hast given me, be with me where I am; that they may behold my glory, which thou hast given me.' It is a great word, this word 'behold'; to behold means to gaze upon as a spectator, but it also means to gaze upon some extraordinary sight, something quite exceptional and unusual. We often have that kind of experience, do we not? Maybe we are out walking and suddenly we turn a corner and see some marvellous sight; we behold, we gaze, we stand and look-it is there, in our Lord's phrase, multiplied by infinity. But this word goes even further than that. It is a continuous word-'that they may continually behold my glory'; we go on beholding! That is not the whole of heaven, of course, but it is perfectly clear from the Scripture, and especially from the book of Revelation, that this is one of the main things in heaven: to behold him, yes, and very specially, he says, to behold his glory.

Now this is very important. He says, '. . . that they may behold my glory, which thou has given me.' We must understand this clearly. Again, as we saw in our last study, it obviously cannot mean his inherent eternal glory as the Son of God, because that was not given to him. He is from eternity the eternal Son of God, co-equal with his Father in glory and in everything else, so it cannot mean the glory which is inherent in the Son of God, as the Son of God. The glory which he speaks here must be that glory which was given to him after he returned from earth to heaven with his human nature. You see, he came out of heaven and took on him human nature. He went back into heaven God-Man. He did not leave human nature behind when he went back to heaven, he took it with him, so that one who is truly human is at the right hand of God's authority and power in heaven. He went back as God-Man, and a special glory was given to him as the God-Man and the Saviour of his people. . ." pp.154,155 Lloyd-Jones

I might quote Manton on John 17:24 someday-his sermons on Jn 17 are wonderful!

So the evening goes by-I will close to rest my weary bones.

7:24 p.m. - 2001-07-24

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

freakyouout
jonathan
fragilegirl8
broken-in-nc
msjessica
poolagirl
fan4
joy-in-god
trapeze-act
oldjake
jedidiah77
silverluna
talktogod
realthoughts