glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

a choice of evil

It is 1:28 PM Thursday afternoon here. It 1:28 PM and partly sunny-but very cold. We are predicted to six inches of snow by tomorrow.

I got up this morning around 7:30 AM and we left for a doctor's appointment at 8:20 AM (I see my doctor every six months). I was out of my doctor's at 9:40 AM. Carol and I got bird food and visited thrift stores to look for used books. My wife buys more used books than me, she buys books she thinks her friends would like or religious books she might want to read-to me she buys junk but my wife has different literary taste than me-and that is OK-what is important is to read. I found these used books today at different thrift stores-

'Choice Of Evil' A Burke Novel Crime Fiction by Andrew Vachss

'Blossom' A Burke Novel Crime Fiction by Andrew Vachss

'Sacrifice' A Burke Novel Crime Fiction by Andrew Vachss

'Shella' A Burke Novel Crime Fiction by Andrew Vachss

'Empire Falls' A Novel by Richard Russo (I already had this novel but this is a first edition hardback in perfect condition whereas my copy is a used paperback-this novel is one of my favorite novels)

'Lotte In Weimar-The Beloved Returns' A Novel by Thomas Mann Translation from the German by H.T. Lowe-Porter

'Oh Williams!' A Novel by Elizabeth Strout

'At Canaan's Edge: America In The King Years 1965-1968' history of The Civil Rights Movement/American history by Taylor Branch (the third and final volume 'America in the King Years' a three-volume history)

'The Long Corner' a novel by Alexander Maksik

Last night is a blur. I will close to wake up. I am totally out of it. I did read while waiting at my doctor's office a book I received yesterday from Amazon titled, 'An Introduction To The Medieval Bible' by Frans van Liere.

I now remember what I read last night before going to bed-I read from these three books-

'Beats At Naropa: An Anthology' Edited by Anne Waldman and Laura Wright

'The Diaries Of Dawn Powell 1931-1965' Edited With An Introduction By Tim Page

'Dawn Powell' a biography by Tim Page

1:57 p.m. - 2024-03-21

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Noworry4tzl
patheticness
nikkifoofoo
catsoul
whystinger
mal-adjusted
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
lobo21
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
realthoughts
journey2one
freakyouout
fragilegirl8
msjessica
fan4
trapeze-act