glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

melancholy horrors

It is 2:35 PM Tuesday afternoon here in south western Michigan. It is 40 degrees and mostly cloudy. I do see though some sunlight and blue sky though our living room windows. It is a blessing to have windows that have not been blown out by bomb explosions.

I got up this morning around 5:45 AM. I got up early because a very weird dream woke me up and I could not get back to sleep. So I got up to face Time Span. When I came upstairs I found my wife reading her Bible in our living room. It is a blessing have a living room that is not filled with destroyed furniture caused by a Russian missile attack.

I spent the morning writing in my paper diary and reading from a book titled, 'General Directions For A Comfortable Walking With God' by Robert Bolton. I have been reading this Puritan reprint by Robert Bolton all day. Carol has been coming and going all day.

There is not much else to report this afternoon. Last night I read late into the night from a Science Fiction novel titled, 'Blueprints of the Afterlife' by Ryan Boudinot.

I will close to drift into the coming darkness.

"But now, on the other side, spiritual joy, which springs out of the wells of salvation, and is a ray and representation, as it were, of the Sun of righteousness, and that eternal fountain of soundest and lasting comfort, is all sweet, pure, shining, calm, hearty, unspeakable, utterly free from those sore grumblings and reluctations of conscience; envenomed mixtures and slavish apprehensions; after-repentings, stings, and melancholy horrors; though it may be assaulted, and something dimmed with some doubts, distrusts, and weakness of degree, by reason of its creation, substance, truth, and blissful issue, it is a very glimpse of heavenly glory, a pure taste of the rivers of life and firstfruits of everlasting joys. Thus the blessing of the Lord maketh the heart spiritually merry with incomparable sweetness, and he addeth no sorrow with it." Robert Bolton pg. 200,201 'General Directions For A Comfortable Walking With God'

2:54 p.m. - 2024-02-06

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Noworry4tzl
patheticness
nikkifoofoo
catsoul
whystinger
mal-adjusted
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
lobo21
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
realthoughts
journey2one
freakyouout
fragilegirl8
msjessica
fan4
trapeze-act