glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Jet Age

It is 1:49 PM Saturday afternoon here in south western Michigan. It is 39 degrees and mostly cloudy. I wonder if we will every see sunshine again. Maybe we have entered the Dark Ages?

I got up this morning around 7:15 AM. When I came upstairs from the lower level where I sleep I found the house empty of Carol's presence. She had left this morning to have breakfast with one of her childhood friend's. I spent the morning writing in my paper diary and reading from a book titled, 'The Decades of Henry Bullinger' Book One. In this volume Bullinger is going through the Ten Commandments (Second Decade Sermon VI). When Carol got home I was still reading Bullinger sitting as is my habit in our dining room.

Carol and I left late this morning to visit Bluestocking Book Shoppe and Salvation Army to look at their used books. I bought three used books this morning-

'South' A Novel by Colm Toibin

'The Final Club' A Novel by Geoffrey Wolff

'Blood And Ruins: The Last Imperial War, 1931-1945' by Richard Overy

When Carol and I got home we ate lunch and I wrote in my paper diary. In the mail this afternoon I received a book I had ordered titled, 'The Machinic Unconscious: Essays In Schizoanalysis' by Felix Guattari Translated by Taylor Adkins.

Last night I read before going to bed, 'Journeying' Essays by Claudio Magris. This afternoon I have been reading, 'American Nietzsche: A History Of An Icon And His Ideas' by Jennifer Ratner-Rosenhagen.

I will close to drift. Tomorrow is the last Sunday of January 2024.

2:05 p.m. - 2024-01-27

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Noworry4tzl
patheticness
nikkifoofoo
catsoul
whystinger
mal-adjusted
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
lobo21
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
realthoughts
journey2one
freakyouout
fragilegirl8
msjessica
fan4
trapeze-act